Limited Access Online Certification

Policies / Frequently Asked Questions

  • To access FCIC/NCIC, users must be at least 18 years of age and be a member of an agency with statutory access to criminal justice information.
  • Administration of paper tests have been discontinued for general users seeking certification. Paper tests will only be provided in response to a request for an Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) accommodation.
  • The user may utilize the PDF version of the “Limited Access Certification” training, as a guide while taking the examination. The document can be found on the Limited Access Certification homepage, and within the nexTEST system immediately prior to testing.
  • The user is certified to use the system for two years after the last date where a passing score of 80% is achieved. This certification is transferable to any criminal justice agency in the state of Florida.
Limited Access Online Certification/Recertification Procedures:
  • User must view the Limited Access online training module available on nexTEST
  • User will have 14 days from the date of completing the online training module to take the Limited Access online exam.
  • User must pass the 25 question exam with a score of 80% or higher.  Upon passing the exam the user will be given 2 years of Limited Access certification.
  • A user that does not complete the Limited Access exam within 14 days of completing the online training must view the training module again prior to retesting.
Limited Access Online Failure Policy:
  • Users that fail the Limited Access certification exam must retake and complete the Limited Access online training module prior to retesting.
  • After completing the online training the user must contact their FCIC Agency Coordinator (FAC)/nexTEST Administrator who will then request the Service Area Information Delivery & Training (ID&T) member or the FDLE Customer Support Center (CSC) unlock the user’s exam in nexTEST prior to allowing the user to retest.
  • A user will have three opportunities to pass the exam. The third failure will result in a user’s inability to be certified as a Limited Access operator for a period of one (1) year from the date of the last failure.
ADA Accommodations
The FDLE is committed to providing reasonable accommodations for persons with disabilities upon request of the individual and/or agency. Individuals with disabilities requiring an accommodation to participate in a training activity should contact the regional IDT representative, in a timely manner, by emailing

Florida Department of Law Enforcement Priorities

FDLE is composed of five areas: Executive Direction and Business Support, Criminal Investigations and Forensic Science, Criminal Justice Information, Criminal Justice Professionalism and Florida Capitol Police. FDLE’s duties, responsibilities and procedures are mandated through Chapter 943, FS, and Chapter 11, FAC. To learn more about these areas, read our Statement of Agency Organization and Operation or visit our Open Government page.