Officer Requirements

How To Become a Certified Officer in Florida

 

Individuals may become certified in the following disciplines:

  • Law Enforcement
  • Corrections
  • Correctional Probation
  • Auxiliary Law Enforcement
     

There are five primary steps to becoming a certified officer in Florida:      

  1. Meet the minimum qualifications pursuant to s. 943.13, Florida Statutes.

  2. Complete the required training or be exempt pursuant to s. 943.131(2), Florida Statutes for the respective discipline.

  3. Pass the State Officer Certification Examination for the respective discipline.

  4. Gain employment with a Florida criminal justice employing agency with that agency completing a full background investigation and submitting an Officer Certification Application form CJSTC-59 on the officer’s behalf.

  5. Have the employment file reviewed by Commission staff to ensure compliance.

 

 1.   Meet the Minimum Qualifications established in s. 943.13 Florida Statutes (The employing agency will document and verify)

  • Be at least 19 years of age for law enforcement and correctional probation.

  • Be at least 18 years of age for corrections.

  • Be a citizen of the United States.

  • Have earned a high school graduate or equivalent (GED). (A bachelor’s degree is required for correctional probation officers).

  • Have not been convicted of any felony or of any misdemeanor involving perjury or a false statement.  Any person who, after July 1, 1981, pleads guilty or nolo contendere to, or is found guilty of a felony, or of a misdemeanor involving perjury or a false statement, shall not be eligible for employment or appointment as an officer, notwithstanding suspension of sentence or withholding of adjudication.

  • Have not received a dishonorable discharge from any of the Armed Forces of the United States.

  • Have good moral character as determined by a background investigation.

  • Have been fingerprinted by the employing agency with prints processed by the FDLE and the FBI.

  • Successfully passed a background investigation, to include drug testing.

  • Have passed a physical examination by a licensed physician, physician assistant, or certified advanced registered nurse practitioner.

  • Completed an Affidavit of Applicant form CJSTC-68.

 

2.   Complete the Required Training or be Exempt Pursuant to S. 943.131(2), Florida Statutes

  • An individual must successfully complete the applicable Commission-approved Basic Recruit Training Program at a Commission-certified training school.  The Basic Recruit Training Programs are in-person programs and are not available on-line.

  • Someone who has previously served at least one year full-time in the past eight years  as a sworn officer in another state, for the federal government, or for the military or served at least five years as a member of the special operations forces with your separation in the past four years may qualify to be exempt from completing the Basic Recruit Training Program pursuant to s. 943.131, F.S.  If you believe you may be exempt, review the information related to Equivalency of Training.

 

3.   Pass the State Officer Certification Examination

  • An individual must successfully pass the applicable State Officer Certification Examination.

  • The State Officer Certification Examination is administered electronically by a contract vendor.

  • An individual has three attempts to pass the State Officer Certification Examination.  If an individual fails to pass the Examination after three attempts, he or she must reenroll in and complete the applicable Basic Recruit Training Program again.

 

4.  Gain Employment with a Criminal Justice Employing Agency as an Officer

  • An individual must gain employment in a sworn position with a criminal justice employing agency.  This can be in a full-time, part-time, or auxiliary capacity.  Individuals who complete the Law Enforcement Auxiliary Basic Recruit Training Program may only be employed in an auxiliary capacity.

  • At an agency’s discretion, an individual may be hired on a Temporary Employment Authorization pursuant to s. 943.131(1), F.S. prior to completing a Basic Recruit Training Program and/or passing the State Officer Certification Examination.

  • The employing agency will collect all documentation required to show compliance with s. 943.13, F.S.

  • The employing agency will complete a comprehensive background investigation including drug testing.

  • Once all requirements for certification are met, the employing agency will submit an Officer Certification Application form CJSTC-59 to the Commission on behalf of the officer.

 

5.   Have the Employment File at the Agency Inspected by Commission Staff

 

For Specific Florida Administrative Code references and additional information: 

11B-27.002  Certification, Employment or Appointment, Reactivation, and Terminating Employment or Appointment of Officers
11B-27.0021  High School Graduation or Equivalent
11B-27.00211  Fingerprint Processing and Criminal Record Results
11B-27.00212 Maintenance of Officer Certification
11B-27.00213 Temporary Employment Authorization
11B-27.0022 Background Investigations
11B-27.00225 Controlled Substance Testing Procedures
11B-27.007 Denial of Certification

 

For more information concerning the officer certification process, contact the Officer Records Section at (850) 410-8600.