Equivalency of Training  FAQ's

Answer: No. FDLE does not determine if you are eligible for an exemption from training. By law, criminal justice employing agencies or selection centers are responsible for reviewing out-of-state or federal officer's employment and training to initially determine eligibility for exemption. You would need to contact one of these entities to apply for an exemption from training.
Answer: The cost to review your information and process the EOT is set by each selection center. You would need to contact them directly to determine what their individual price is. Additionally, each Criminal Justice Training Center determines their cost for the training course, so again, you would need to contact the training center you are interested in attending to determine the cost.
Answer: Contact a Commission-certified Criminal Justice Training Center to register for the training class that will allow you to demonstrate proficiency in the high-liability skills for the sworn discipline you were granted your EOT in.
Answer: You only have one (1) year from the date you receive your EOT to complete the demonstration of proficiency and pass the State Officer Certification Examination.
Answer: Yes. Pursuant to Chapter 943.131(2), Florida Statutes, if you are still otherwise eligible, you can apply for an additional exemption from training. You would have to meet the eligibility requirements at the time of application.
Answer: Provided you still have time remaining before your one year time limit expires, you may have up to two additional attempts to pass the exam. If you are unable to pass the exam after three attempts, you would have to complete a full basic recruit training program in order to be eligible to take the exam again. You can find additional information about the State Certification Exam here. Applicants for the EOT are highly encouraged to complete their demonstration of proficiency as soon as possible following their approval in order to allow time for preparing for the exam as well as retakes if needed. If you are unable to complete 3 attempts to pass the exam before your 1 year time limit expires and you apply for and are granted another exemption from training, you will only have the attempts remaining from your previous exemption from training to use to pass the exam.
Answer: No. Under the provisions of Chapter 943.131(1), Florida Statutes, a criminal justice employing agency may hire you on a Temporary Employment Authorization while you participate in the EOT process. The decision to hire you resides solely with the employing agency.
Answer: You must abide by both. For example: Under the requirements for the EOT, you have one year to take the training and pass the State Officer Certification Examination. You could wait until the last few months to actually take the training and pass the exam if you chose to. If you are on a TEA, you are required to start the training course within 180 days of your appointment on a TEA, so you could not wait until near the end of your one year time limit to enter the training. Additionally, under the requirements for the TEA, you must pass the State Officer Certification Examination within 180 days of completing the training so if you complete your training very early in your one year time limit for the EOT, you would have to complete the exam prior to the end of the one year time limit to remain employed on the TEA. Also, if you are employed on a TEA, the 180 day time limit to pass the exam following your training does not extend the one year time limit to complete the requirements for the EOT.
Answer: You have four years from the date that you started your training course for your EOT to become employed.
Answer: If you do not get employed in a sworn position within four years of the start date of the training course for the EOT, you can apply for another EOT provided you are still eligible or you would have to complete a full basic recruit academy.
Answer: No, each agency is responsible for their own hiring and hiring standards above the minimum requirements found in Chapter 943.13, Florida Statutes. Some agencies do utilize a regional screening service in their area, but you would need to contact the agency to determine if they use a screening service or not. Contact information for Florida’s criminal justice employing agencies can be found here.
Answer: No. Chapter 943.131(2), Florida Statutes mandates that the one year of service must have been as a full-time sworn officer.
Answer: You may qualify provided your normal hours have equaled 40 for at least one year and you meet the other requirements. Rule 11B-35.009, Florida Administrative Code defines “full-time” as “any employed or appointed status in which a normal work week consists of forty or more on-duty hours, exclusive of overtime, holidays, regular days off, leave, or other authorized or ordered absence from work.” You will likely need payroll records from your employing agency in order for the selection center conducting your review to document you meet the employment requirement.
Answer: No. Due to the very wide range of training requirements and the way auxiliary officers are used throughout the country, no EOT process has been authorized by the Commission.
Answer: Yes, you will have to have two separate Equivalency of Training CJSTC Form 76s completed for you, one for each discipline. Your demonstration of proficiency for the law enforcement discipline can be counted for your corrections as the law enforcement covers everything required for the corrections with the addition of vehicle operations required for law enforcement. You will also have to take both the corrections and the law enforcement versions of the State Officer Certification Examination and they can not be taken at the same time.
Answer: You can apply for and complete the requirements for the EOT for corrections. Once you have passed the State Officer Certification Examination, you would be eligible to complete a cross-over basic recruit class to cross-over from corrections to law enforcement.