Criminal justice leaders graduate from Executive Leadership Seminar

For Immediate Release
September 27, 2023
TALLAHASSEE, Fla. – The Florida Criminal Justice Executive Institute announces the graduation of 22 criminal justice executives from the Executive Leadership Seminar. These graduates serve in leadership roles and represent criminal justice agencies from across the state.
The Executive Leadership Seminar provides continuing education for upper-level managers within Florida’s criminal justice community.
Seminar participants met for three weeks at the Valencia College School of Public Safety focusing on quality in leadership and the ability to create and lead change. Topics included communicating through a crisis, critical thinking, leading proactively, managing organizations, overcoming adversity, emotional intelligence, and servant leadership. The class held a graduation ceremony on Sept. 22.
The Florida Criminal Justice Executive Institute, established within the Florida Department of Law Enforcement and affiliated with the State University System, was established in 1990 by the Florida Legislature to address the need for an innovative and multi-faceted approach to the education and training of criminal justice professionals.
Below is a list of graduates from Class 10 of the Executive Leadership Seminar:
Major Mario Aliberto
St. Petersburg Police Department
Major Frank J. Anzalone
Florida Division of Alcoholic Beverage and Tobacco
Major David Arthur
Hillsborough County Sheriff’s Office
Captain William Berger
Florida Highway Patrol
Deputy Chief Louis Biondi
Ocala Police Department
Captain Andrea N. Blalock
Leon County Sheriff’s Office
Lieutenant Commander James R. Butts
Florida City Police Department
Assistant Chief Tina Chatmon
Clay County Sheriff’s Office
Chief Ra Shana A. Dabney-Donovan
Pembroke Park Police Department
Captain Scott Forth
Collier County Sheriff’s Office
Major James Hall
Polk County Sheriff’s Office
Captain Kerwin Hankerson
Broward County Sheriff’s Office
Major William Holcomb
Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission
Captain Kevin Kirkpatrick
Okaloosa County Sheriff’s Office
Major Malik Muhammad
Orange County Corrections Department
Assistant Regional Director Angella M. New
Florida Department of Corrections
Major Benny C. Solis
Miami-Dade Police Department
Chief Deputy Thomas St. John
Hillsborough County Sheriff’s Office
Captain Jon Tobeck
Pinellas County Sheriff’s Office
Captain Chris Vance
Santa Rosa County Sheriff’s Office
Commander Richard Warner
St. Augustine Police Department
Assistant Special Agent in Charge Christopher Woehr
Florida Department of Law Enforcement
For Further Information Contact:
FDLE Office of Public Information
(850) 410-7001

Florida Department of Law Enforcement Priorities

FDLE is composed of five areas: Executive Direction and Business Support, Criminal Investigations and Forensic Science, Criminal Justice Information, Criminal Justice Professionalism and Florida Capitol Police. FDLE’s duties, responsibilities and procedures are mandated through Chapter 943, FS, and Chapter 11, FAC. To learn more about these areas, read our Statement of Agency Organization and Operation or visit our Open Government page.