Criminal justice leaders graduate from Chief Executive Seminar

For Immediate Release
November 10, 2022
TALLAHASSEE, Fla. – The Florida Criminal Justice Executive Institute announces the graduation of 19 chief executives from the Chief Executive Seminar today. The graduates, who represent criminal justice agencies from around the state, serve in leadership roles within their agencies.

Participants met for one week a month for three months, taking classes on topics such as future trends, social media, risk management, stress management, succession planning and communicating in a crisis.

The goal of the Chief Executive Seminar is to prepare Florida’s criminal justice leadership for the challenging demands of the future. Class participants study trends and events that may affect criminal justice professionals and Florida, while developing new leadership skills to address the changes that lie ahead.

The Florida Criminal Justice Executive Institute, established within the Florida Department of Law Enforcement and affiliated with the state university system, was established in 1990 by the Florida Legislature in recognition of the need for an innovative and multifaceted approach to the education and training of criminal justice professionals.

Below is a list of graduates of the 55th Chief Executive Seminar.

Interim Dean Wayne K. Boulier
Broward College – Institute of Public Safety
Director Jason Bundy
FDLE – Forensic Services
Chief Kristi J. Cobb
Midway Police Department
Major Richard B. Davis
Polk County Sheriff’s Office
Chief Douglas A. Goerke
St. Cloud Police Department
Chief Wesley S. Hardin
Tallahassee Community College Police Department
Director Joseph Hornsby
FDLE – Information Technology
Chief Craig W. Kowalski
Broward County Public Schools Police
Chief Steve McCosker
Crestview Police Department
Major Erick McGuire
Florida Highway Patrol – Troop I
Director David J. Odom
Consolidated Dispatch Agency – 911 Emergency Communications Tallahassee/Leon County
Major Thomas E. Pikul
Florida Highway Patrol – Troop F
Chief Saima A. Plasencia
Ocoee Police Department
Chief Louis QuiƱones, Jr.
Orange County Corrections Department
Chief Barry Roberts
Springfield Police Department
Captain Tyler Scarborough
Marianna Police Department
Captain Eric Brad Segree
Franklin County Sheriff’s Office
Chief Michael Vieno
Kenneth City Police Department
Chief Deputy Alton K. Williams III
Suwannee County Sheriff’s Office
For Further Information Contact:
FDLE Office of Public Information
(850) 410-7001

Florida Department of Law Enforcement Priorities

FDLE is composed of five areas: Executive Direction and Business Support, Criminal Investigations and Forensic Science, Criminal Justice Information, Criminal Justice Professionalism and Florida Capitol Police. FDLE’s duties, responsibilities and procedures are mandated through Chapter 943, FS, and Chapter 11, FAC. To learn more about these areas, read our Statement of Agency Organization and Operation or visit our Open Government page.