Criminal justice leaders graduate from Executive Leadership Seminar

For Immediate Release
July 27, 2018
TALLAHASSEE, Fla. – The Florida Criminal Justice Executive Institute announces the graduation today of 25 criminal justice executives from Class 6 of the Executive Leadership Seminar. These graduates serve in leadership roles and represent criminal justice agencies from across the state.
The Executive Leadership Seminar is an educational opportunity for upper-level managers within Florida criminal justice organizations and seeks to provide a continuing education forum for the development and refinement of leadership skills for Florida’s criminal justice executives. 
Seminar participants met for three weeks at FDLE Headquarters in Tallahassee with a focus on quality in leadership and the ability to create and lead change. Topics covered included communicating through a crisis, critical thinking, leading people, managing organizations, overcoming adversity, emotional intelligence and servant leadership.
The Florida Criminal Justice Executive Institute, established within the Florida Department of Law Enforcement and affiliated with the State University System, was established in 1990 by the Florida Legislature to address the need for an innovative and multi-faceted approach to the education and training of criminal justice professionals. 
Below is a list of graduates from Class 6 of the Executive Leadership Seminar:
Chief of Logistics & General Support Steven J. Barreira
Clay County Sheriff’s Office
Captain Barry D. Blackburn
Leon County Sheriff’s Office
Captain Douglas Bringmans
Santa Rosa County Sheriff’s Office
Deputy Chief Heather Capetillo
Oviedo Police Department
Captain Rodger D. Carpenter
Florida Highway Patrol
Assistant Deputy Secretary Richard D. Comerford
Florida Department of Corrections
Captain Richard B. Davis
Polk County Sheriff’s Office
Captain Brian Dotten
Marion County Sheriff’s Office
Captain Charles Eades
Ocala Police Department
Captain B. Ezra Folsom
Florida Highway Patrol
Captain Brice J. Google
Leon County Sheriff’s Office
Major Johnny Greenwood
Putnam County Sheriff’s Office
Bureau Chief of Standards Glen W. Hopkins
Florida Department of Law Enforcement
South Regional Director Kevin Housel
Florida Department of Juvenile Justice
Captain Jay M. Jones
Okaloosa County Sheriff’s Office
Chief Keith E. Klopfer
Florida Department of Agriculture & Consumer Services
Captain Mitchell Meadows
Winter Haven Police Department
Commander Jennifer Michaux
St. Augustine Police Department
Captain Charles A. Nix, II
Okaloosa County Sheriff’s Office
Deputy Chief Ricky Ramie
Lynn Haven Police Department
Assistant Special Agent in Charge Tony Rodriguez
Florida Department of Law Enforcement
Deputy Director Jason I. Sheffield
St. Johns County Sheriff’s Office
Captain Shannon M. Tait
Okaloosa County Sheriff’s Office
Undersheriff Ray Walden
Clay County Sheriff’s Office
Division Chief Jamie L. Watson
Winter Park Police Department
For further information contact:
Gretl Plessinger, Jessica Cary or Jeremy Burns
FDLE Office of Public Information
(850) 410-7001