FDLE Home / Criminal History Records > Florida Criminal History Record Check

State of Florida Criminal History Record Check

The Florida Department of Law Enforcement (FDLE), Division of Criminal Justice Information Services (CJIS), is the central repository for criminal history information for the state of Florida. In addition to maintaining criminal history information, it is our responsibility to provide public access to this information when requested. In order to maintain the highest level of service, and to better meet the needs of criminal history record check customers, Florida's Legislature has implemented criminal history record check fees. The fee for public requests is $24.00

Effective July 1, 2020, FDLE will discontinue the use of Florida Criminal History Information Request forms via mail. Alternative options requesting Florida criminal history information include: The Instant Search, The Certified/Non-Certified, The ORI Search. These options require a fee that must be paid by debit or credit card at the time of the request.


Instant Search

Internet searches conducted by customers, with results available immediately.  Your results can be printed or emailed.  Results will NOT be certified.

Each search costs $24.00, in addition to a $1.00 credit card processing fee, and must be paid by debit or credit card.


Certified/Non-Certified Search

Demographic information is provided by customers. Once FDLE staff receive the information, a search is conducted by one of our members.

The results can be notarized and are returned to the customer by regular US Mail. Non-certified processing time is five (5) business days, whereas certified processing time is six (6) – seven (7) business days. Please note that FDLE’s processing time does NOT include US Mail delivery time. The timeliness of mail delivery service may be affected by a number of factors outside the control of FDLE; as such, please allow up to 1 month for mail delivery prior to contacting FDLE.

Each search costs $24 and must be paid by debit or credit card.


ORI Search

Customers must provide a valid ORI in order conduct a search.

The cost of each search varies depending upon state statute, state agency, or authorized entity.

Results are sent directly to the recipient authorized by the ORI.

NOTE: FDLE cannot provide you the ORI number to conduct your search. If you need to conduct a criminal history record check using an established ORI number, you must contact that agency or entity to obtain a valid ORI number.




Florida Department of Law Enforcement Priorities

FDLE is composed of five areas: Executive Direction and Business Support, Criminal Investigations and Forensic Science, Criminal Justice Information, Criminal Justice Professionalism and Florida Capitol Police. FDLE’s duties, responsibilities and procedures are mandated through Chapter 943, FS, and Chapter 11, FAC. To learn more about these areas, read our Statement of Agency Organization and Operation or visit our Open Government page.