Personal Review

Florida Statute 943.056 affords individuals the right to request a copy of their Florida criminal history record for purposes of personal review, to ensure that it is accurate and complete. The requestor may examine the record and challenge any inaccurate or incomplete information. A “no record” response will be returned if the requestor is found to have no criminal record on file with the Florida Department of Law Enforcement (FDLE). There is no charge assessed by FDLE for this service.

Generally, juvenile records are confidential and exempt from public release.  FDLE’s limited authority to release juvenile records can be found in Section 943.053(3)(b)1, Florida Statutes.  That statute authorizes FDLE to release juvenile criminal history information from Florida sources only when the juvenile has been:

a. Taken into custody by a law enforcement officer for a violation of law which, if committed by an adult, would be a felony; or

b. Charged with a violation of law which, if committed by an adult, would be a felony; or

c. Found to have committed an offense which, if committed by an adult, would be a felony; or

d. Transferred to adult court.
Juvenile records that have been expunged or sealed are not subject to public release.
Personal Review applications must include a copy of the requestor’s fingerprints taken by a law enforcement or criminal justice agency. Fingerprinting services are available at most local police departments and sheriff’s offices. Please contact your local agency to find their fingerprint rolling fees and schedule an appointment.
If you need a certified copy of your Florida criminal history, please do not request a Personal Review service. A copy of the criminal history record returned in response to the Personal Review request contains no demographic information and cannot be used for immigration, employment, licensing, or certification purposes. To request a certified copy of your Florida criminal history, please visit and select the Certified/Non-Certified Search option. If you have any questions regarding this process, please contact FDLE’s Criminal History Services Section at or (850) 410-8161.
Note: Only individuals or their designated attorneys can make requests for a Personal Review of their own criminal record. Individuals cannot request a Personal Review for another person in order to determine if that person has a criminal history. However, FDLE provides requestors options to perform an online, name-based search of publicly-available Florida criminal history information on any individual for a statutorily-mandated fee of $24 per search. To review the available search options and submit your request(s), please visit
To start your Personal Review application, complete the Personal Review of Florida Criminal History Record form. Mail your completed form and fingerprint card to:
Florida Department of Law Enforcement
Post Office Box 1489
Tallahassee, FL 32302-1489
Attn: Criminal History Record Maintenance Section
If you have any questions regarding FDLE’s personal review or challenge process, please contact Criminal History Record MaintenanceSection at (850) 410-7898 or
To obtain a fingerprint based Federal Identity History Summary Check visit or submit a written request, completed fingerprint card, and an $18.00 certified check or money order payable to the Treasury of the United States, directly to the FBI at the following address:
FBI CJIS Division – Summary Request
1000 Cluster Hollow Road
Clarksburg, WV 26306

Florida Department of Law Enforcement Priorities

FDLE is composed of five areas: Executive Direction and Business Support, Criminal Investigations and Forensic Science, Criminal Justice Information, Criminal Justice Professionalism and Florida Capitol Police. FDLE’s duties, responsibilities and procedures are mandated through Chapter 943, FS, and Chapter 11, FAC. To learn more about these areas, read our Statement of Agency Organization and Operation or visit our Open Government page.