Law enforcement supervisors graduate from Florida Leadership Academy

For Immediate Release
April 18, 2024
ST. AUGUSTINE, Fla. – The Florida Criminal Justice Executive Institute (FCJEI) announces the graduation of 44 first-line supervisors from the Florida Leadership Academy, Class 56. These graduates serve in leadership roles representing 37 criminal justice agencies throughout the state.
The graduates met for four week-long sessions at the St. Johns County Sheriff’s Office Training Facility in St. Augustine, Florida. They learned skills necessary to support the needs of their agencies and their communities as they prepare for future challenges.
The goal of the Florida Leadership Academy is to prepare first-line supervisors in criminal justice organizations to exemplify the character and integrity expected of criminal justice professionals and to examine the various components necessary to being an efficient leader. The graduation ceremony is April 19 in St. Augustine. 
The Florida Criminal Justice Executive Institute, which is housed within the Florida Department of Law Enforcement and affiliated with the State University System, was established in 1990 by the Florida Legislature to address the need for an innovative and multi-faceted approach to the education and training of criminal justice professionals.
For Further Information Contact:
FDLE Office of Public Information
(850) 410-7001
Florida Leadership Academy Class 56 Graduates:
Richard Armstrong      Okaloosa County Corrections
Beau Baier                  Crestview Police Department
Robert Bethea              Florida Gaming Control Commission
Josh Bishop                  Florida Department of Corrections
Luther Burnam              Bay County Sheriff’s Office
DC Carr                        Casselberry Police Department
Eric Claxton                  Orange Park Police Department
Zach Cooke                  St. Johns County Sheriff's Office
Kyle Cubbedge             St. Johns County Sheriff's Office
Josh Davis                    Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission
Matt Dennis                   Marion County Sheriff's Office
Jenna DuBose              Sarasota County Sheriff's Office
Ryan Duval                   Okaloosa County Sheriff’s Office
Wayne Ferrell                St. Augustine Police Department
John Flanigan                Escambia County Sheriff’s Office
Kathryn Gotz                 Daytona Beach Shores Department of Public Safety
Adam Havranek            Auburndale Police Department
Barbaro Hernandez       Village of Key Biscayne Police Department
Cory Herny                    Boynton Beach Police Department
Eddie Howell                 Clay County Sheriff's Office
Robert Hutchison          Holly Hill Police Department
James Jackson             Palm Beach County School Police Department
David Jensen                St. Augustine Beach Police Department
Dustin Johnson             St. Johns County Sheriff’s Office
Phillip Kent                   Walton County Sheriff's Office
Mike Kloepfer               Pinellas Park Police Department
Dustin Land                  Santa Rosa County Sheriff's Office
Brendan Lohri               Seminole County Sheriff's Office
Raul Lopez                   Orange County Corrections
TJ Martin                      Jacksonville Beach Police Department
Peter McTague             Nassau County Sheriff's Office
Emmett Merritt             Putnam County Sheriff's Office
Randy Mills                  Pasco County Corrections Department
Brett Morando             Green Cove Springs Police Department
Chafic Nsouli               Sanford Police Department
Andrea Rockey            Broward County Sheriff’s Office
Dana Scola                  Tavares Police Department
Jason Sharp                Jacksonville Beach Police Department
Jean Torres                  Florida Highway Patrol
Erin Vineyard               Green Cove Springs Police Department
Rob Walmsley III         Polk County Sheriff's Office
Ben Wase                    Clay County Sheriff's Office
Antuan Watkins           Pinellas County Sheriff's Department
Lonnie Wilson             Escambia County Corrections Department
For Further Information Contact:
FDLE Office of Public Information
(850) 410-7001

Florida Department of Law Enforcement Priorities

FDLE is composed of five areas: Executive Direction and Business Support, Criminal Investigations and Forensic Science, Criminal Justice Information, Criminal Justice Professionalism and Florida Capitol Police. FDLE’s duties, responsibilities and procedures are mandated through Chapter 943, FS, and Chapter 11, FAC. To learn more about these areas, read our Statement of Agency Organization and Operation or visit our Open Government page.