Law enforcement supervisors graduate from Florida Leadership Academy


For Immediate Release             

November 19, 2021
TAMPA, Fla. – The Florida Criminal Justice Executive Institute announces the graduation of 41 first-line supervisors from the Florida Leadership Academy, Class 49. These graduates serve in leadership roles representing 35 criminal justice agencies throughout the state.
The graduates met for four weeklong sessions at the Hillsborough County Sheriff’s Office in Tampa, Florida. They learned skills necessary to support the needs of their agencies and their communities as they prepare for future challenges.
The goal of the Florida Leadership Academy is to prepare first-line supervisors in criminal justice organizations to exemplify the character and integrity expected of criminal justice professionals and to examine the various components necessary to being an efficient leader.
The Florida Criminal Justice Executive Institute, which is housed within the Florida Department of Law Enforcement and affiliated with the State University System, was established in 1990 by the Florida Legislature to address the need for an innovative and multi-faceted approach to the education and training of criminal justice professionals. 
For Further Information Contact:
FDLE Office of Public Information
(850) 410-7001

Florida Leadership Academy Class 49 Graduates:
Audrey Adams            Okaloosa County Sheriff's Office
Ben Birge                    Pasco County Sheriff’s Office
Joleen Bowman          Pinellas County Sheriff's Office
Terrence Brown          Indian River County Sheriff’s Office
Matthew Campion      Cape Coral Police Department
Matt Carter                  Hillsborough County Sheriff’s Office
Roy Cole                     Sebastian Police Department
Jim Couch                   Tallahassee Police Department
Daniel Cruz                 St. Petersburg Police Department
Thomas Davis             Osceola County Corrections Department
Shannon DePew         Putnam County Sheriff's Office
Jason Franjesevic        Pinellas County Sheriff's Office
Roy Galarza                Volusia County Sheriff's Office
Josh Haimes                Hillsborough County Sheriff’s Office
Roger Hall                   Coconut Creek Police Department
Dan Hannah                Miami-Dade Police Department
Brandon Hartz             Hillsborough County Sheriff’s Office
Latasha Henderson     Sarasota County Sheriff's Office
Roberto Hernandez     Florida Department of Law Enforcement
Joseph Hersey             Polk County Sheriff's Office
Ryan Hilsdon              St Petersburg Police Department
Eric Larson                 Marion County Sheriff’s Office
Dana Levine                Miami Gardens Police Department
Tabitha Lewis             Walton County Sheriff’s Office
Jacob Meyer                Florida Highway Patrol
Jennifer Mongosa       New Smyrna Beach Police Department
Alesha Morel               Fort Myers Police Department
Michael Parker            Highlands County Sheriff's Office
Beth Poffel                  Florida Department of Corrections
Mike Puka                   Collier County Sheriff’s Office
Anthony Rosas            Florida Fish & Wildlife Conservation Commission
Chris Ryan                  Pinellas Park Police Department
Melissa Scruggs          Escambia County Sheriff's Office
John Sessa                   Florida Highway Patrol
John Shea                    Pinellas Park Police Department
Ryan Shipes                Lynn Haven Police Department
William Strickland     Bay County Sheriff’s Office
Omar Torres                Orange County Corrections Department
Sahira Torres               Florida Department of Corrections Probation & Parole
David Wainright         Zephyrhills Police Department
Kyle Worthington       Seminole County Sheriff’s Office

Florida Department of Law Enforcement Priorities

FDLE is composed of five areas: Executive Direction and Business Support, Criminal Investigations and Forensic Science, Criminal Justice Information, Criminal Justice Professionalism and Florida Capitol Police. FDLE’s duties, responsibilities and procedures are mandated through Chapter 943, FS, and Chapter 11, FAC. To learn more about these areas, read our Statement of Agency Organization and Operation or visit our Open Government page.