
 

 

 

 
July 6, 2012 
 
 
CRIMINAL JUSTICE STANDARDS and TRAINING COMMISSION 
TECHNICAL MEMORANDUM 2012-14 

TO: Criminal Justice Agencies 
Criminal Justice Training Center Directors 

FROM: Program Director Jennifer C. Pritt 
  Criminal Justice Professionalism Program 

SUBJECT: Public Safety Telecommunications Training for Law Enforcement Officers 
 

On March 23, 2012, Governor Rick Scott signed into law a provision that exempts law 
enforcement officers serving as 911 public safety telecommunicators (PST) on an occasional or 
limited basis from becoming PST certified through the Department of Health.  Because of this 
provision, effective July 1, 2012, law enforcement officers serving in a temporary capacity as 
public safety telecommunicators will not be required to complete the 232-hour course 
administered through the Department of Health.  However, they will be required to pass an 
examination administered by the Department of Health.  

Should an officer fail the PST examination, he or she is required to complete a Department of 
Health approved course before retaking the examination.  On May 10, 2012, the Criminal 
Justice Standards and Training Commission approved a 40-hour Public Safety 
Telecommunications for Law Enforcement Officers Specialized Course #1195, which meets this 
requirement.  The course may be delivered at a local agency or training school, but must be 
taught by a public safety telecommunicator that has been certified through the Department of 
Health.  In addition, Rule 11B-27.00212(9), F.A.C. requires that documentation supporting this 
training be attached to the Mandatory Retraining Report Form CJSTC-74 and be maintained in 
the officer’s file.  Documentation may include an outline of topics of instruction, name(s) of 
instructor(s), date training was completed, and number of hours completed.   

The purpose of the 40-hour course is to prepare Florida certified law enforcement officers to 
receive and dispatch 911 calls.  The course was developed using a comparative analysis of the 
232-hour Public Safety Telecommunicator Program and the 770-hour Florida CMS Law 
Enforcement Basic Recruit Training Program.  Lessons 1, 3, 4, and 5.2, are intended for online 
instruction or may be taught in the classroom.  This training is available online at: 
http://www.fdle.state.fl.us/Content/getdoc/ae4b3997-9f8f-4571-8acd-e4d00cdf8d2d/911-Page-
(2).aspx.  Students will receive 17 hours credit for completing this part of the training.  Students 
are also required to complete the NIMS course IS200.b that is offered by FEMA.  The NIMS 
course is offered online or may be taught in the classroom and may be accessed: 
http://training.fema.gov/emiweb/is/is200b.asp.  Students will receive three hours credit for 
completing this part of the training.  Lesson 2 is dedicated to 20 hours of hands-on training in a 
telecommunications center or simulated setting.  The training school or agency sponsoring the 
training will be responsible for documenting completion of all required classroom and online 
instruction as described above.  
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The Public Safety Telecommunications for Law Enforcement Officers Course Guide is available 
through ATMS.  For all other materials or questions associated with public safety 
telecommunicator training, certification, or examination you should access the Department of 
Health’s website at the following address: http://www.doh.state.fl.us/DEMO/EMS/911PST.html. 

Should you have any questions regarding the 40-hour course, please feel free to contact 
Bureau Chief Dwight Floyd in the Bureau of Training at (850) 410-8675 or 
dwightfloyd@fdle.state.fl.us.   

JCP/DAF/djh 

Cc:  Criminal Justice Standards and Training Commission Members 
 Executive Director Amy Mercer 
 Director Steve Casey 
 Dr. John H. Armstrong 


