Obtaining Criminal History Information

  • Livescan Service Providers and Device Vendors



    In order to maintain the highest level of service, and to better meet the needs of criminal history record check customers, Florida's Legislature has implemented criminal history record check fees. The fee for public requests is $24.

    The Florida Department of Law Enforcement (FDLE), Division of Criminal Justice Information Services (CJIS), is the central repository for criminal history information for the state of Florida. In addition to maintaining criminal history information, it is our responsibility to provide public access to this information when requested.

    Additional Links are provided below the chart.

       
    TYPE OF
    CRIMINAL
    HISTORY
    INFORMATION
    FDLE
    PROGRAM
    ACCESS FINGERPRINT
    SUBMISSION
    PRICE
    FLORIDA Criminal History Services
    (850) 410-8109
    Florida Criminal History Search
    General Public Not Required $24.00
    FLORIDA Quality Control Section Compromised Identity Review
    (850) 410-8880
    General Public Required On Compromised Identity Review Form NO CHARGE
    FLORIDA and
    NATIONAL (FBI)
    VECHS Program
    (850) 410-8324
    Qualified Organizations (that serve children, elderly or disabled persons)
    Fact Sheet
    Required: may be through livescan
    submission
    Fees Located On:
    Fact Sheet
    FLORIDA and
    NATIONAL (FBI)
    Criminal History Services
    (850) 410-8161 
     Persons and Agencies
    with Statutory Authority
    Fact Sheet
    Required: may be through livescan submission Fees Located On:
    Fact Sheet
    (Set Via Statute) 
    FLORIDA
    WANTED
    PERSONS
    Local
    Law Enforcement
    Agencies
    General Public Not Required N/A 
    FLORIDA
    REGISTERED
    SEX OFFENDERS/
    SEX PREDATORS
    Sex Offender/
    Sex Predator
    Section
    (850) 410-8572 
    General Public Not Required NO CHARGE 

    ADDITIONAL INFORMATION ON CRIMINAL HISTORY RECORD CHECKS
    • Obtain Florida criminal history information on an individual from us using our web site.
       
    • Obtain Florida criminal history information on an individual from us through US Mail.
       
    • Request a fingerprint based personal review or challenge a Florida criminal history record from us through website link. Note: personal review is provided only for individual’s own criminal history record, and cannot be used for employment or licensing purposes.
       
    • Wanted persons and missing persons information may be obtained by accessing the FDLE Public Access System.
       
    • State and national criminal history information is available to governmental agencies for licensing and employment as required under Florida law. If you need more information on this, you may contact the agency that governs the type of employment in which you are interested. For example, if you are interested in working for an elementary school, you would contact the local school district; if you are interested in a concealed weapon permit, you would contact the Department of Agriculture & Consumer Services/Division of Licensing where this licensing occurs. To determine if a criminal history check is required in your situation, you can search the Florida Statutes for specific laws on the Florida Legislature's web site On-Line Sunshine.
       
    • Both state and national information are also available to organizations that can qualify for this information under federal law. To learn more about what is required for an organization to become qualified, please see our Volunteer and Employee Background Check information.
       
    • The national Compact Council provides instruction on verifying a person’s identity which is crucial to the value of conducting a criminal history check. Identity Verification Program Guide.
       
    • The FBI’s website has information on taking legible fingerprints which may be useful in training persons who will be rolling prints for submission on inked fingerprint cards or through livescan systems.
       
    • Information on background checks for public school contractors, especially as related to the contractor requirements under Jessica Lunsford Act.
       
    • Background checks for private schools receiving McKay Scholarship money can be found on the Private School Information page.
       
    • To learn more about state and national checks, see Fact Sheet.