Applying for Early Juvenile Expungment

The following requirements must be met, pursuant to Section 943.0515(1)(b)2, Florida Statutes (F.S.), in order to obtain an early juvenile expungement of an FDLE criminal history record.

Pursuant to Section 943.0515(1)(b)2, Florida Statutes (F.S.) and 11C-7.010 Florida Administrative Code (FAC), in order to obtain an early juvenile expunction of a criminal history record, the applicant must:
  • Be at least 18 years of age but less than 21 years of age
  • Must not have been charged by the state attorney with, or found to have committed any criminal offense, within the 5-year period before the application date.
     
Application
  • You may obtain an application for the Early Juvenile Expungement by downloading the application, or by emailing the FDLE Expunge Section at SEinfo@fdle.state.fl.us, and requesting an application be sent to you.
    • Section A - Section A of the application must be completed and signed by the applicant and parent/guardian (if under 18 years of age) in the presence of a Notary Public or a Deputy Clerk of the Court.
       
Completed Written Certified Statement Page
  • For all expunction applications (including juveniles), the written certified statement page completed by the appropriate state attorney or statewide prosecutor is required.

Certified Disposition
  • The applicant must provide a certified disposition for each case/criminal charge(s) listed on the application. This may be obtained from the clerk of court in the county where the case/charge(s) originated.
  • If placed on probation, provide documentation showing termination of probation.
  • For pre-trial intervention cases and other diversion programs, the applicant must provide a copy of the pretrial completion certificate or a letter of successful completion, which may substitute for a certified disposition.
 
Completed Fingerprint Form/Card
  • The applicant must be fingerprinted by an authorized member of law enforcement or other criminal justice agency.
  • The fingerprint form/card must include the applicant’s name, date of birth, signature, and date.
  • The fingerprint form/card must include the signature of the official taking the fingerprints and the agency’s ORI/stamp.
 
Processing Fee
  • A NONREFUNDABLE money order, cashier’s check, or personal check in the amount of $75.00 made payable to FDLE must accompany the application. FDLE does not accept cash, gift cards, or temporary personal checks.
  • Make sure to completely fill out and sign the check/money order.
 
Attorney Letterhead (if applicable)
  • If you are represented by an attorney, a letter of representation from the attorney on letterhead must be submitted with the application. If an attorney letter is not received, FDLE will only correspond with the applicant.
  • Make sure the appropriate mailing address is clearly indicated on this letter.


Special Note: It is highly recommended that you obtain and keep a copy of all pertinent documents (i.e., arrest report, disposition, and order to expunge or seal) for your records before you secure the sealing or expungement of your criminal history records. 

REASONS AN APPLICATION WILL BE DENIED

Pursuant to s. 943.0515, F.S., the non-judicial arrest record of a minor cannot be expunged under any of the following circumstances:
  1. The applicant is younger than 18 years of age or older than 21 years of age.
 
  1. The applicant is currently under court supervision applicable to the disposition of arrest or alleged criminal activity to which this application pertains.
 
  1. The applicant has been charged with or found to have committed a criminal offense, in any jurisdiction of the state or within the United States, within the 5-year period before the application date.
 
  1. You have been charged by the state attorney with, or found guilty/adjudicated delinquent of, a criminal offense stemming from the arrest to which the application pertains.
 
  1. You have been charged by the state attorney with, or found guilty/adjudicated delinquent of, a criminal offense prior to the application date.