Commissioner Bailey Presents Medals for Exemplary Accomplishments

Florida Department of Law Enforcement (FDLE) Commissioner Gerald Bailey yesterday awarded four members with the Commissioner’s Medal and two teams with the Superior Unit Citation. They were presented with the distinctions at a ceremony at FDLE Headquarters.

“Each and every day these members step in and step up to get the job done,” Commissioner Bailey said. “They have made significant contributions to FDLE and to public safety in Florida and their dedication and commitment is very much appreciated.”

Systems Programmer Bill Nye of the Information Resource Management Program was recognized with the Commissioner’s Medal for negotiating cost-saving contracts for cellular telephone and data services, researching and developing new products, and providing exemplary hardware and software support. He has been with FDLE for 15 years.

Information Systems and Services Administrator Mark Scharein of the Information Resource Management Program was recognized with the Commissioner’s Medal for successfully managing the agency’s multi-million dollar information technology budget. Scharein also oversees more than 300 maintenance contracts for software, hardware, and services. He has been with FDLE for 31 years.

Assistant General Counsel Joe White of the Office of General Counsel was recognized with the Commissioner’s Medal for his expertise and multiple contributions to the agency. White handles officer discipline litigation for the Criminal Justice Professionalism Program. He has been with FDLE since 1985.

Assistant Special Agent in Charge Jennifer Pritt of the Investigations and Forensic Science Program was recognized with the Commissioner’s Medal for her accomplishments in the investigative and intelligence arena. Pritt served previously as Director of the Florida Fusion Center and in that role positioned the State of Florida as a model for other fusion centers. She joined FDLE in 1999.

Members of FDLE’s Professional Compliance Section in the Professionalism Program were awarded the Superior Unit Citation for successfully handling a 24 percent increase in caseload with no increase in staff. The team is responsible for preparing officer discipline cases for presentation at probable cause hearings. The Professional Compliance Section includes: Cliff Chitwood, Tijuana Comer, Kim Harrison, Glen Hopkins, Jennifer Jacobs, Lori Morea, Craig O’Connell, Cheryl Perkins, Jill Simpson, and Lee Stewart.

Members of FDLE’s Executive Policy Board were awarded the Superior Unit Medal for their commitment, performance and outstanding leadership. The Executive Policy Board is comprised of the senior management from FDLE’s program and regional offices and includes: Dennis Bustle, Mike Crews, Joyce Dawley, Al Dennis, Lynn Dodson, Jay Etheridge, Vickie Gardner, Penny Kincannon, Victoria Kliner, Don Ladner, Jim Madden, Tom McInerney, Dominick Pape, Mark Perez, E.J. Picolo, Mike Ramage, Amos Rojas, Heather Smith, Ken Tucker, Donna Uzzell, and Mark Zadra.

The Commissioner’s Medal is awarded to an FDLE member who has become distinguished by a meritorious achievement, act, or service performed substantially beyond normal expectations. The Superior Unit Citation is awarded to a team, task force, or work unit for exceptional meritorious performance. The recognitions are part of the FDLE Commendation Medal Program which was established in 2007 to recognize members for acts of heroism, bravery, and exemplary accomplishment.

For Further Information Contact:
Heather Smith, Kristen Chernosky or Mike Morrison
FDLE Office of Public Information
(850) 410-7001