

Marjory Stoneman Douglas High School Public Safety Commission

Marjory Stoneman Douglas High School Public Safety Commission
Meeting Agenda
BB&T Center
Sunrise, FL
June 7 and 8, 2018

	June / and 8, 2018	
IN MEMORY OF:	<u>June 7, 2018</u>	<u>3</u>
Alyssa Alhadeff	8:30 a.m.	Welcome and Opening Remarks Sheriff Bob Gualtieri, Commission Chair
Scott Beigel Martin Duque Anguiano	8:35 a.m.	Review and Approval of Minutes from April 24, 2018 Meeting Sheriff Bob Gualtieri
Nicholas Dworet	8:40 a.m.	Overview of SB7026 Requirements Sheriff Bob Gualtieri
Aaron Feis	9:30 a.m.	Overview of Pre and Post-Arrest Juvenile Diversion Programs Mark Greenwald, Director of Research and Data Integrity, DJJ
Jaime Guttenberg Christopher Hixon	10:30 a.m.	Break
Luke Hoyer	10:45 a.m.	State Law and DOE Perspective on School Discipline and Diversion Jacob Oliva, DOE Executive Vice Chancellor, K-12 Public Schools
Cara Loughran Gina Montalto	11:15 a.m.	Broward County School's Discipline System and Diversion Programs, Including the Promise Program
Joaquin Oliver	12:30 p.m.	Michaelle (Mickey) Pope, Executive Director, BCS Lunch Break (provided on site for commission members and staff)
Alaina Petty	1:30 p.m.	Florida School Construction and Physical Site Security Requirements
Meadow Pollack Helena Ramsay	2:00 p.m.	Linda Champion, Deputy Commissioner, DOE Crime Prevention through Environmental Design (CPTED)
Alexander Schachter	2.00 p.m.	Edward Upthegrove, Florida Office of Attorney General Art Hushen, CPTED Lead Instructor for Florida OAG
Carmen Schentrup	3:00 p.m.	Break
Peter Wang	3:15 p.m.	Security Risk Assessment Requirements, Florida School Security and Assessment Tool (FSSAT) and School Safety Plans Linda Champion, Deputy Commissioner, DOE
	3:45 p.m.	Active Assailant Prevention and Response Best Practices for Schools Bob Kolasky, Deputy Assistant Secretary, DHS Office of

Infrastructure Protection



Marjory Stoneman Douglas High School Public Safety Commission

OMSD		
Public Safety Commission	4:15 p.m.	Active Assailant Training and Drills Before and After MSD Shooting Jacob Oliva, DOE Executive Vice Chancellor, K-12 Public Schools
	4:45 p.m.	Florida Safe School Funding (DOE) Linda Champion, Deputy Commissioner, Finance and Operations
IN MEMORY OF:	5:15 p.m.	Public Comment (must complete comment card and remarks are limited to 3 minutes each).
Alyssa Alhadeff	5:30 p.m.	Adjourn
Scott Beigel	June 8, 2018	
Martin Duque Anguiano		
Nicholas Dworet	8:00 a.m.	The Law and Regulations Regarding SROs in Florida and Applicable Training Requirements
Aaron Feis		Dean Register, Director of Professionalism, FDLE
Jaime Guttenberg	8:30 a.m.	SROs in Florida: Their Role and Operational Best Practices Tim Enos, Florida Association of School Resource Officers
Christopher Hixon	9:00 a.m.	BCSO Perspective—SROs in Broward County, Staffing, Funding, Contracts between the School Board and Law Enforcement Agencies
Luke Hoyer		Major Nichole Anderson, BCSO School Resource Officer Program
Cara Loughran	9:30 a.m.	Broward County Schools Perspective—SROs in Broward County, Jeff Moquin, Chief of Staff, Broward School Board
Gina Montalto		•
Joaquin Oliver	10:00 a.m.	Break
Alaina Petty	10:15 a.m.	Explanation of the ESE System in Florida and SEDNET Jacob Oliva, DOE followed by Nikki Zenn SEDNET
Meadow Pollack	11:15 a.m.	ESE in Broward County Schools and School Counseling System Dr. Antoine Hickman, Executive Director, Broward County Schools
Helena Ramsay		
Alexander Schachter	12:30 p.m.	Lunch (provided on site for commission members and staff)
Carmen Schentrup	1:30 p.m.	Overview of the Operational Aspects of Florida Mental Health System and the Mental Health System in Broward County
Peter Wang		Ute Gazioch, Director of Mental Health and Substance Abuse, DCF
	2:30 p.m.	Overview of Florida's Baker Act Law Hon. Steve Leifman, Miami – Dade County Judge
	3:30 p.m.	Public Comments (3 minutes for remarks/comment card)

4:00 p.m.

Adjourn