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FDLE – Firearm Eligibility Bureau 

 Mission Statement 
 
The Firearm Eligibility Bureau is committed to 
serving the public by ensuring law-abiding 
citizens and eligible visitors are able to legally 
obtain firearms while preventing transfers to 
individuals who are prohibited.  



Laws that Govern Firearm  
Transfers and Possession 

 
 

 
 

National Firearm Act of 1934 – Regulates Class III 
firearms (machine guns, short barreled firearms) 
 

Gun Control Act of 1968 – created categories of 
prohibited persons 
 

Florida Statute 790.065 (1989) – established 
statewide background check requirement 
 

Brady Handgun Violence Prevention Act of 1993 – 
established national background check requirement 
effective November 1998 



Purchase vs. Possession 

 
• Title 18, United States Code 922(g)(1)-(9)  

• Prohibits purchase and possession 
• Title 18, United States Code 922(n) 

• Prohibits purchase but not possession 
• Florida Statute 790.065 – Delivery & Sale of Firearms 

• Requirements regarding purchase 
• Individual statutes prohibit possession - examples: 

• 790.23 –  adult convicted of a felony 
• 790.23(1) – juvenile found delinquent of a felony 
• 790.233 – domestic violence injunction 
• 790.041 – risk protection order 
• 790.064 – person adjudicated mentally defective  



Registry Prohibition 

 
 

• F.S. 790.335 prevents government entities from 
creating or maintaining a list of legal firearm owners 
or a ‘firearm registry’.  

• Firearm Owners’ Protection Act of 1986 is a federal 
law prohibiting a universal, national gun registry. 
 



Firearm Background Checks 

Federal Disqualifiers (Title 18 USC 922): 
• Felony Conviction (or equivalent) 
• Fugitive From Justice 
• Unlawful User of Controlled Substance 
• Adjudicated Mentally Incompetent 
• Illegal Alien or Unlawfully in US 
• Dishonorable Discharge from Armed Forces 
• Renounced US Citizenship 
• Respondent to Protection Order  
• Convicted of Misdemeanor Domestic Violence 
• Under Indictment/Information for Felony 
 



Firearm Background Checks 

State Disqualifiers: 
 
• Juvenile Prohibitions (until age 24 or until expunged) 
• Protection Orders – expanded from Federal law 
• Adjudication Withheld – 3 years after completion of 

sentencing provisions 
• Recent Arrest for Dangerous Crime or 

Enumerated Offense not yet disposed in court 
 



Firearm Background Checks 

 
Mental Health Prohibition 

 

    Prohibiting  
• Adjudicated mentally incompetent by court 
• Court ordered to treatment (including substance 

abuse) 
• Mentally unable to proceed in criminal case 
• Not guilty by reason of insanity 

 

Not Prohibiting 
• Persons who voluntarily seek treatment 
• Held for observation then released 
• Physician diagnosis alone (absent a court order) 



Firearm Background Checks 

 Reporting Mental Health Records 
 

• Determination made by Court 
• Recorded by Clerk of Court 
• Clerk of Court submits electronically within 

30 days of adjudication  
• Person record created in MECOM 
• MECOM interfaces with NICS Index to 

make record available nationally 
• Removed upon order by the Court (Relief 

from Firearm Disability) 



Firearm Background Checks 

 Risk Protection Order 
 

    Prohibits purchase  
• Petitioned by Law Enforcement Agency 
• Ex Parte (temporary) order until hearing 
• Hearing – final order up to 12 months 
• Can be extended 
• Respondent can petition for order to be 

removed 
• Notification to law enforcement agency if 

purchase is attempted by respondent 



Firearm Background Checks 

 Risk Protection Order 
 

    Prohibits possession  
• Surrender of firearms on person at time of 

contact with law enforcement 
• Voluntary surrender of additional firearms 
• Law Enforcement may seek a warrant to 

seize additional firearms not surrendered 
• Firearms returned to respondent when order 

expires or is dismissed 
• Background check before firearms are 

returned 



Firearm Background Checks 

 Approval – Firearm may be transferred.  
Personal information is confidential and exempt 
and cannot be disseminated. 
Decision Pending (status) – not a final decision, 
research is in progress.  Can share information 
for purpose of research/complete transaction.  
Non-Approval – a final decision subject to 
appeal.  Non-approvals may be disseminated to 
law enforcement – not a public record.  



Firearm Background Checks 

 Senate Bill 7026 – Impact on Background Check Process 
 

1. Requires persons to be at least 21 to purchase a long 
gun (same as handgun).   (Exceptions to age for certified law 
enforcement officers, correctional officers, and US Service Members who are 
at least 18.) 
 

2. Extended statewide waiting period to all firearms to 3 
days or until completion of background check.  
(Exceptions to waiting period for certified officers, US Service Members, 
hunter safety & hunting license, and trade in of another firearm.) 
 

3. Created Risk Protection Order as a firearm disqualifier.  
 



Gun Show Loophole 

 
“Gun Show Loophole” 

• FFLs are required to submit a background check 
regardless of location. 

• No background check requirement for transfers 
between private parties (non-licensed). 

• Private Collector or Firearm Dealer? 
• Florida Constitution Article VIII, Section 5(b) 

authorizes counties to require a background check 
and up to 5 day waiting period for firearm sales 
when any part of the transaction is conducted on 
property to which the public has the right of access.  
 



County Ordinances 

 
 

• May require a waiting period up to 5 days on 
handguns and long guns 

• May require a background check for all sales 
conducted on property to which the public has 
the right of access 
• FFL to facilitate the sale  
• CWP Holders are exempt 
• Is enforced by county officials 



County* - 3 day wait 
County* - 5 day wait 

* These Counties have ordinances requiring background 
checks on private sales conducted on property to which 
the public has a right of access (business premises, gun 
shows, flea markets, trade or collector exhibits, etc.) 



Firearm Background Checks 

 Firearm Eligibility Bureau – (850)410-8139 
 
Firearm Purchase Program 
 firearmpurchasing@fdle.state.fl.us 
 
Eligibility Research Unit – Mental Health 
 MECOM@fdle.state.fl.us 
 

mailto:firearmpurchasing@fdle.state.fl.us
mailto:MECOM@fdle.state.fl.us
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