

Marjory Stoneman Douglas High School Public Safety Commission

Marjory Stoneman Douglas High School Public Safety Commission
Meeting Agenda
BB&T Center
Sunrise, FL
August 14 – 15, 2019

		August 14 13, 2017
IN MEMORY OF:	Wednesday,	August 14, 2019
Alyssa Alhadeff	8:30 a.m.	Welcome and Opening Remarks Sheriff Bob Gualtieri, Commission Chair
Scott Beigel	8:45 a.m.	Approval of Minutes from June 2019 Meeting Sheriff Bob Gualtieri
Martin Duque Anguiano	8:50 a.m.	Commission Discussion on Future Meetings and Contents of Next Report
Nicholas Dworet	10:00 a.m.	Break
Aaron Feis		
Jaime Guttenberg	10:15 a.m.	Report on Statewide Assessment of School-Based Juvenile Diversion Programs under the Executive Order and Law Enforcement Access to Diversion Data Secretary Simone Marstiller, DJJ
Christopher Hixon		Secretary Simone Praisoner, 200
Luke Hoyer	10:45 a.m.	Follow-up Presentation by DCF on Mental Health Program Implementation under SB7026 Deputy Secretary Patricia Babcock, DCF
Cara Loughran	11:15 a.m.	Presentation on Recommendation to Modify Requirement of Monthly
Gina Montalto		Active Assailant Drills Chief John Newman, Hillsborough County Schools
		Captain Rick Francis, Seminole County Sheriff's Office
Joaquin Oliver	12:00p.m.	Lunch (provided on site for commission members and staff)
Alaina Petty	1:00p.m.	Update on Hollywood Radio Tower, ORCAT and Regional 911 Communications
Meadow Pollack		Bertha Henry, Broward County Administrator
Helena Ramsay	2:00p.m.	Update on ORCAT and Regional Communications and Broward County Sheriff's Office's Active Assailant Response Preparedness
Alexander Schachter		Sheriff Gregory Tony, BSO
Carmen Schentrup	3:00 p.m.	Break
Peter Wang	3:15 p.m.	Update on ORCAT and Regional Communications Chief Tony Rosa, Sunrise Police Department and Broward County

Police Chiefs Association



Alyssa Alhadeff

Aaron Feis

Luke Hoyer

Helena Ramsay

Alexander Schachter

Carmen Schentrup

Peter Wang

Marjory Stoneman Douglas High School **Public Safety Commission**

4:15 p.m. Updated Survey Results Regarding Statewide Compliance with SB7026

and SB7030

Damien Kelly, Director of Office of Safe Schools, DOE

5:00 p.m. Adjourn

Thursday, August 15, 2019 IN MEMORY OF:

> 8:30 a.m. Follow – Up Presentation and Questions by Commission Members for

> > BCPS Superintendent Robert Runcie

10:30 a.m. Break Scott Beigel

10:45 a.m. Overview of FERPA Application and Exceptions Martin Duque Anguiano

Ms. Pamela Hepp, Outside Counsel for DOE

Buchanan, Ingersoll, and Rooney PC Nicholas Dworet

> 11:45 a.m. FDLE update regarding SRO and other related training

Dean Register, Director of Professionalism, FDLE

Lunch (provided on site for commission members and staff) 12:15 p.m. Jaime Guttenberg

CLOSED SESSION Christopher Hixon

New Statewide Behavioral Threat Assessment Instrument and the 1:00 p.m.

Revised District-Wide FSSAT

OPEN SESSION Cara Loughran

Florida Schools Safety Portal SB7026/E.O. 2:00 p.m. Gina Montalto

Shawna Reid, Bureau Chief, DOE

Andre Smith, Deputy Commissioner of Innovation, DOE

Annie White, Assistant Special Agent in Charge, FDLE Joaquin Oliver

2:30 p.m. Local/Countywide Data Sharing Alaina Petty

Sheriff Gualtieri

Meadow Pollack 3:00 p.m. Unified Statewide Threat Assessment Strategy

Commissioner Rick Swearingen, FDLE

3:30 p.m. School Hardening and Harm Mitigation Workgroup Recommendations

> Required by Governor's Executive Order and Commission Recommendations for the Statewide Working Group

Sylvia Ifft, FSSAT Administrator, DOE

4:45 p.m. Public Comment (must complete comment card and remarks are limited

to 3 minutes each)

5:00 p.m. Adjourn