FDLE Office of Criminal Justice Grants Drone Replacement Program FAQs (revised 07.14.2025)

1. Who is eligible for this program?

From July 15, 2025 through October 14, 2025, FDLE will be accepting applications from:

- Agencies who have not received any funding under this program since its inception in FY23-24, AND
- law enforcement agencies (LEAs), fire service providers, ambulance crews, or other first responders defined in statute who are located in Florida's <u>fiscally constrained counties</u>, even if previous funding was received.

Pending remaining available funding, FDLE will open the solicitation on October 15, 2025 to all law enforcement agencies (LEAs), fire service providers, ambulance crews, or other first responders defined in statute, including those who received funding in prior years. This will be allocated on a first-come, first-served basis.

2. <u>How do I apply for funding?</u>

Eligible entities may apply for the program by submitting an executed "Drone Replacement Program Financial Assistance Agreement". This agreement must be signed by the agency Chief Official (Sheriff, Chief of Police, etc.) to be considered valid.

3. <u>If we participated in the program in previous years, are we eligible to apply for additional funding?</u>

If you are located in one of Florida's <u>fiscally constrained counties</u>, you may submit a new application at this time. However, if you are not located in one those counties, we will not process your application until after October 15, if funds are still available.

4. <u>If we participated in the program in previous years, are we able to apply for additional</u> <u>funding for drones we previously purchased that exceeded \$25,000?</u>

No. This program can only pay up to \$25,000 for each compliant drone purchased.

5. How many drones are we allowed to purchase with grant funds?

The new guidelines do not specify a number. However, the new application asks certain questions to help determine the appropriate amount of funding for your agency. Recipients will be awarded funds, not to exceed \$25,000 per compliant drone, approved by the Department on the Drone Funding Request Form (Appendix A).

6. <u>How much can we be reimbursed for the purchase of a compliant drone?</u>

This program will provide up to \$25,000 per compliant drone purchased, including operationally necessary accessories.

7. <u>We received donated drones. Are we eligible for this program?</u>

FDLE Office of Criminal Justice Grants Drone Replacement Program FAQs (revised 07.14.2025)

Yes. Unlike previous years, agencies who did not have purchase documentation for prior noncompliant drones are eligible to purchase compliant drones and receive grant funding for this year.

8. We do not have a drone to relinquish. Are we eligible for this program?

Yes. The 2025 program revisions allow FDLE to provide funding to agencies without a requirement to relinquish drones.

9. Where do I send my noncompliant drone?

Recipients are no longer required to relinquish noncompliant drones to FDLE.

10. <u>My agency purchased a drone back when we were required to shelf them. Are we eligible to apply for this funding and recoup the costs of the new compliant drone?</u>

FDLE understands some participating agencies may have quickly replaced their drone fleet. As such, FDLE will allow funds under this program to off-set the purchase of the new drone(s) provided the following conditions are met:

- The purchase occurred after January 1, 2022; and
- the new drone is compliant with all provisions of Rule 60GG-2.0075, Florida Administrative Code.

The participating agency will need to complete the "Reimbursement Request (Option 1)" form, and provide all required documentation, to the FDLE Grant Manager to receive the payment.

11. <u>My agency does not have the budget authority to go out and purchase a new, compliant</u> <u>drone. What options are available for us to participate in this program?</u>

FDLE understands some participating agencies may not have the budget authority to purchase compliant drones. FDLE will allow participating agencies to request a cash advance for their funding; however, in order to approve the release of advance funds, the agency must provide to the FDLE Grant Manager the following documentation: (1) a completed Cash Advance Request (Option 2) form, (2) a valid, executed PO, and (3) a current quote for the new drone to be purchased. Advanced funds must be spent on the compliant drone within 30 days of receipt. The agency must provide the invoice and proof of payment within 45 days, or the advanced funds must be refunded to FDLE.