The Florida Silver Alert is used to locate missing persons suffering from an irreversible deterioration of intellectual faculties. The Florida Silver Alert Plan outlines two levels of Silver Alert activation: Local and State. Local and State Silver Alerts engage the public in the search for the missing person and provide a standardized and coordinated community response.
Local Silver Alert
Local Silver Alert Criteria
Although each agency may have their own criteria for activation of a Local Silver Alert, the Florida Silver Alert Support Committee recommends that agencies use the below criteria as a guideline when issuing a Local Silver Alert:
- The person is 60 years and older; or,
- The person is 18-59 and law enforcement has determined the missing person lacks the capacity to consent and that a Local Silver Alert may be the only possible way to rescue the missing person.
- The person has an irreversible deterioration of intellectual faculties (e.g. Alzheimer's disease or dementia) that has been verified by law enforcement.
Local Silver Alert Activation Steps
Although each agency may have their own policy or requirements for activation of a Local Silver alert, the Florida Silver Alert Support Committee recommends that local law enforcement agencies complete the following steps:
- Conduct a preliminary investigation in which the agency has concluded that the disappearance poses a credible threat to the person’s welfare and safety.
- Enter the missing person into the Florida Crime Information Center (FCIC) and issue a local BOLO.
- Contact media outlets in the area and/or surrounding jurisdictions.
Once the person has been recovered, contact the local memory disorder clinic or provide the family with information regarding services and assistance.
State Silver Alert
For persons with dementia who go missing in a vehicle with an identified tag, a State Silver Alert may be issued. In these cases, the Florida Department of Law Enforcement (FDLE) Missing Endangered Persons Information Clearinghouse (MEPIC) can assist with the illumination of dynamic message signs in your area. State Silver Alerts can only be issued for cases meeting the criteria below.
State Silver Alert Criteria
- The person must be 60 years and older; or,
- The person must be 18-59 and law enforcement has determined the missing person lacks the capacity to consent and that the use of dynamic message signs may be the only possible way to rescue the missing person.
- The person must have an irreversible deterioration of intellectual faculties (e.g. Alzheimer's disease or dementia) that has been verified by law enforcement.
- The person must be traveling by motor vehicle with an identified license plate number or other vehicle information that has been verified by law enforcement.
State Silver Alert Activation Steps
- The local law enforcement agency must enter the missing person into FCIC/NCIC.
- The local law enforcement agency must notify media outlets in their area and/or surrounding jurisdictions.
- The local law enforcement must issue a statewide BOLO.
- Once the above steps have been completed, the local law enforcement agency may request a State Silver Alert by calling the FDLE Missing Endangered Persons Information Clearinghouse (MEPIC) at 1-888-356-4774.
- The FDLE will ensure that the information is broadcast through dynamic highway message signs and via email through the Department of Elder Affairs listserv and other resources.
Note: Only law enforcement agencies can request activation of a State Silver Alert. If you would like to report a missing person, please contact your local police department or sheriff’s office first, then contact MEPIC at 1-888-FL MISSING (356-4774).
Law Enforcement Resources
- Florida Department of Elder Affairs 850-414-2000
- Media Alert 813-282-8612
- A Child is Missing, Inc. 1-888-875-2246
- Florida Department of Highway Safety Motor Vehicles Medical Reporting Form