FDLE starting statewide review of crime lab drug evidence
Feb 01, 2014
Story Image
TALLAHASSEE, Fla. – Florida Department of Law Enforcement Commissioner Gerald Bailey announced that FDLE has begun a review of all cases processed by a chemist in FDLE’s Pensacola Regional Crime Laboratory. 
Last week, in conjunction with the Escambia County Sheriff’s Office and State Attorney William Eddins’ Office, FDLE began an investigation into missing prescription pain pills from the evidence room at the Escambia County Sheriff’s Office.  The missing drugs had been replaced with over-the-counter medications. 
On Thursday Jan. 30, investigators determined that each case with missing drugs had been analyzed by one Pensacola chemist.  FDLE Office of Executive Investigations has opened a criminal investigation and the chemist has been relieved of duty.
FDLE is reviewing evidence from all cases handled by this chemist between 2006 and present. 
Each regional Special Agent in Charge is contacting local law enforcement leaders and state attorneys so that they may take appropriate action regarding pending cases. 
Beginning Monday, FDLE teams will be deployed to impacted agencies to inspect all evidence handled by the chemist to confirm cases potentially compromised.  The chemist worked nearly 2,600 cases for 80 law enforcement agencies spanning 35 counties and 12 judicial circuits.   
For Further Information Contact:
Gretl Plessinger, Samantha Andrews or Steve Arthur
FDLE Office of Public Information
(850) 410-7001

Counties potentially impacted by missing drug evidence
Alachua County                                                            
Bay County
Calhoun County
Charlotte County
Collier County
Columbia County
Desoto County
Escambia County
Franklin County
Gadsden County
Glades County
Gulf County
Hamilton County
Hendry County
Hernando County
Highlands County
Holmes County
Jackson County
Lafayette County
Lake County
Lee County
Leon County
Madison County
Marion County
Monroe County
Okaloosa County
Osceola County
Pasco County
Santa Rosa County
Sumter County
Suwannee County
Taylor County
Wakulla County
Walton County
Washington County