Florida Methamphetamine Precursor Electronic Monitoring System
Enforcement date January 1, 2011
History

Methamphetamine is an illegal, highly addictive and dangerous drug that can be manufactured from over-the-counter products containing ephedrine and related compounds.
 
Besides addiction, risks include:
*
Injury due to explosion of highly combustible products
*
Exposure to highly toxic waste
*
Environmental contamination and costly cleanup
 
In 2006, the Federal Government passed the Combat Methamphetamine Epidemic Act of 2005 to regulate retail over-the-counter sales of ephedrine, pseudoephedrine, and phenylpropanolamine.  The law limits the quantity of these products that can be sold to an individual on a daily basis and during a 30-day period, and requires:
*
Retailers to place ephedrine products away from direct customer access
*
Retailers to maintain a paper or electronic logbook to record sales of these products, and make the log available to law enforcement upon request                                                                                             
*
Purchasers to present a valid ID

The Federal law was successful in helping to reduce the number of methamphetamine laboratories in the State of Florida, but manufacture and sale of methamphetamine remain problematic in our state. 
*
Federal penalties for non-compliance are not enforceable by local law enforcement
*
Without a centralized system to collect sales and purchase data, enforcement of the federal law is impractical, requiring law enforcement to go from store to store to gather data.
 
The 2010 Florida Legislature passed Florida Statute 893.1495 to control the sale and purchase of ephedrine and related compounds.  The bill:
*
Establishes legal limits for the sale and purchase of these products
*
Requires Florida retailers who sell the products to electronically submit certain purchaser and transaction information to a statewide database, National Precursor Log Exchange (NPLEx)
*
Allows retailers that do not have a computer with internet access and do not sell more than 72 grams of ephedrine in a 30-day period to Request an Exemption from reporting requirements
*
Mandates FDLE to adopt Rules for implementation (Rule 11D-2.005- Notice of Rule Development), which includes a proposed draft exemption form
 
If you have questions or require additional information, email MethLaw@fdle.state.fl.us or call 850-410-8300.