Florida Methamphetamine Precursor Electronic Monitoring System
Enforcement date January 1, 2011

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)
 
Required Reporting to the Electronic Database:
Florida Statute 893.1495 requires any pharmacy or retailer that sells over-the-counter medicines that contain ephedrine, pseudoephedrine or pheylpropanolamine (PSE) to report certain purchaser and sales information to a statewide electronic database. Reporting to the electronic database replaces the current requirement to record purchaser and sales information in a written logbook mandated by the Federal Combat Methamphetamine Epidemic Act (CMEA) of 2005.
 
I am a pharmacy or retailer but I do not sell products that contain ephedrine and related compounds. Do I need to use the electronic monitoring system and should I apply for an exemption?
No. Florida Statute 893.1495 does not apply to pharmacies or retailers that do not sell these products that contain ephedrine, pseudoephedrine or pheylpropanolamine (PSE). Therefore your pharmacy is not required to report to the statewide database and is not required to request for exemption.
 
I am a pharmacy that only sells products that contain ephedrine and related compounds under a Doctor’s prescription. Do I need to use the electronic monitoring system and should I apply for an exemption?
No. Florida Statute 893.1495 does not apply to pharmacies that sell products that contain ephedrine, pseudoephedrine or pheylpropanolamine (PSE) under a doctor’s prescription. Therefore your pharmacy is not required to report to the statewide database and is not required to request for exemption.
 
Exemptions:
Florida Statute 893.1495 provides an exemption from the reporting requirements for pharmacies or retailers that:
  • Do not have a computer with an internet connection that is available in any sales area within the retailer location and
  • Do not sell more than 72 grams of ephedrine in a 30-day period.
Retailers who believe they are eligible under this provision may apply for an exemption with the Florida Department of Law Enforcement (FDLE).  FDLE will review the request for exemption, and will grant or deny the request within 14 business days.
 
I do not have a computer with an internet connection near the register or place where sales transactions occur but I sell more than 72 grams of ephedrine and related compounds in a 30 day period. Will I qualify for an exemption?
No. To be exempt from the reporting requirements of Florida Statute 893.1495, you must not have internet connection near the point of sale AND sell less than 72 grams of product in a 30 day period. 
 
I have a computer with an internet connection near the register or place where sales transactions occur but I sell less than 72 grams of ephedrine or related compounds in a 30 day period. Will I qualify for an exemption?
No. To be exempt from the reporting requirements of Florida Statute 893.1495, you must sell less than 72 grams of ephedrine and related compounds in a 30 day period AND have no internet connection near the point of sale. 
 
I do not have a computer with an internet connection near the register or place where sales transactions occur and I do not sell more than 72 grams of ephedrine and related compounds in a 30 day period. Will I qualify for an exemption?
Yes, however you must first request an exemption from the Florida Department of Law Enforcement. More information about the exemption process is available by clicking on the Request for Exemption link at the top of this page.
 
Access to the Electronic Monitoring System:
Appriss, the technology provider for the National Precursor Log Exchange (NPLEx) system will be mailing letters between October 20 and 22, 2010 to all pharmacies. The letter will include NPLEx account information, instructions on access the system and training opportunities.
 
I have not received any information from Appiss and the date to begin reporting in my letter has already passed or it is very near.
The begin reporting date in the FDLE letter is a date that will allow retailers to begin reporting when the NPLEx account information is received.  January 1, 2011 is the enforcement date, however, you may begin reporting as soon as you receive your account information from Appriss.
 
I received my account information from Appriss but I am having problems accessing the NPLEx system. What do I need to do?
Contact Appriss’ customer support center by sending an email to FLNPLEx@appriss.com or by phone at 877-925-6384