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The Criminal Justice Standards and Training Commission 
has as its mission “to ensure that the citizens of the State of 

Florida are served by the most qualified, well trained, 
competent and ethical criminal justice officers in the nation”. The 

Commission meets quarterly in an open forum to address issues 
relating to criminal justice. As a part of these quarterly hearings, 

cases regarding officer misconduct are reviewed and action is taken 
against the officer’s criminal justice certification. Disciplinary action is 

based on the facts of each case and is guided by both Florida Statute 
and Florida Administrative Code. The following is a sample of the cases the 

Commission heard at the hearings held on May 6, 2021. 

Case #38629 - Perjury by Contradictory Statements, Unlawful Compensation 
The respondent was terminated from the Broward County Sheriff’s Office (BCSO) subsequent to 
an internal investigation which sustained failure to conform with laws, unlawful compensation, 
official misconduct, untruthfulness, violation of off-duty employment, and conduct unbecoming.  
On July 24, 2014, an investigation was conducted following allegations that the respondent 
received unlawful compensation while working off-duty in his uniform at an adult club 
establishment. According to the previous supervisor of the BCSO special detail office (SDO), a 
special detail request had not been approved for the off-duty assignment and the current 
supervisor supported her statement.  The respondent never submitted any vouchers or cash from 
the establishment. An employee of the establishment testified that the respondent worked a 
special detail for them for approximately four weeks and she paid him approximately $500 each 
time that he worked.  During his sworn Garrity statement, the respondent said he began going to 
the establishment in his uniform hoping to receive the special assignment once it was approved. 
The respondent initially said he was not compensated for being at the establishment. During a 
sworn interview with the State Attorney’s Office (SAO), the respondent admitted he was paid $250 
for his first day working at the establishment. He said it was a regular occurence for him to work 
at the establishment every Tuesday and get paid in cash. He said he worked at the establishment 
a total of five or six times. He admitted to having not turned in any payment slips because he was 
not approved to work the detail.  On April 1, 2015, the respondent was arrested for unlawful 
compensation, tampering with a witness, official misconduct, and unlawful use of a two-way 
communication device.  On April 7, 2015, the SAO filed an Information for unlawful compensation, 
tampering with a witness (two counts), official misconduct, and unlawful use of a two-way 
communication device (two counts). On July 23, 2019, the SAO dismissed all the charges 
because the respondent’s Garrity Rights were violated.  The respondent also served as a witness 
for the state’s case against two co-defendants.  



2 

Penalty Guideline: Prospective Suspension to Revocation; Revocation 
FDLE Prosecution requested revocation. 

Disciplinary Action by the Commission: The Commission accepted the requested penalty. 

Case # 45425 – Battery 
The respondent resigned from the Jackson County Sheriff’s Office prior to the conclusion of an 
internal investigation which sustained conduct unbecoming. On August 4, 2019, a deputy with the 
Jackson County Sheriff’s Office responded to a complaint for a missing person. Upon arrival, the 
deputy observed a subject (victim) having a seizure and contacted emergency medical services 
to render aid. The victim was transported to the hospital. Another subject advised that he and a 
group of friends, including the respondent, had been drinking alcohol and riding the dirt roads 
in their ATVs. During the night, it was determined that the respondent and his wife would 
need assistance returning home due to their level of intoxication. The victim volunteered to 
drive them home. During the ride home, it was determined that the respondent’s wife was 
missing, and had possibly fallen out of the ATV. The group stopped and began searching for 
her. While the group was searching the area, the respondent attempted to start the ATV. The 
victim grabbed the key from the respondent to stop him from driving while intoxicated. 
During this confrontation, the respondent slapped the victim on the left side of his face and jaw. 
The victim had a seizure shortly after the battery. Three subjects in the group advised the 
deputy they had witnessed the respondent strike the victim in the head. The investigation 
further revealed that the respondent’s wife had not fallen from the ATV, but had wandered off 
and was located later that night.  On August 26, 2019, during the respondent’s sworn 
interview, he admitted that he was drinking the night of the incident and had little recollection of 
what happened. He denied hitting the victim. On November 20, 2020, the State Attorney’s 
Office closed the case with no information due to the respondent’s successful completion of 
terms and conditions of an administrative pre-trial intervention agreement. 

Penalty Guideline: Suspension 
FDLE Prosecution requested a 60-day prospective suspension; 1-year probation to begin at the 
conclusion of the suspension period; provide staff with proof of successful completion of 
Commission-approved substance abuse and anger management counseling prior to the end of 
the probationary period. 

Disciplinary Action by the Commission: The Commission accepted the requested penalty. 

Case # 44858 – Battery 
The respondent resigned from the Manatee County Sheriff’s Office prior to the conclusion of an 
internal investigation which sustained unlawful conduct and conduct unbecoming. On April 22, 
2019, the respondent and several other correctional deputies entered the cell of a disruptive 
inmate to place him in a restraint chair.  A struggle between the inmate and the deputies began 
and the inmate grabbed the respondent and scratched his head. When the inmate was finally 
secured in handcuffs and lying on the floor, the respondent stood up and kicked the inmate in the 
mouth. The inmate was bleeding from the mouth after the kick. During an interview, the 
respondent acknowledged that he kicked the inmate after handcuffs had been applied.  On March 
3, 2020, the respondent entered into a pre-trial diversion program that ordered him to pay court 
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fees and serve 25 hours of community service. He successfully completed the program on June 
3, 2020.  
 
Penalty Guideline: Suspension 
FDLE Prosecution requested a 45-day prospective suspension; 1-year probation to begin at the 
conclusion of the suspension period; provide staff with proof of successful completion of 
Commission-approved anger management counseling prior to the end of the probationary period. 
 
Disciplinary Action by the Commission: The Commission rejected the requested penalty and 
revoked the respondent’s certification. 
 
 
Case # 45889 – False Official Statement 
The respondent resigned from the Orange County Corrections Department subsequent to an 
investigation which sustained the charges of fraud or dishonesty, code of conduct, and visual and 
security checks. On June 27, 2019, an inmate was found hanging in an isolation cell and was 
later pronounced deceased. While investigating the circumstances of the death, it was discovered 
that the respondent failed to perform required safety and security checks. Investigators reviewed 
security video and saw the respondent check the cells at 3:39 a.m. He was not seen again until 
5:15 a.m. delivering meals. The respondent made entries in the electronic officer log report stating 
he performed checks at thirty-minute intervals between 3:30 a.m. and 5:50 a.m. He also made a 
manual entry on the daily record of confinement form stating he checked on the inmate at 6:30 
a.m. and that the inmate was on the bed awake and that he spoke with him. Video shows that the 
inmate began preparations at 5:41 a.m. and hung himself at 6:00 a.m. During a sworn interview, 
the respondent admitted that he failed to make the required checks because he was busy 
assisting other officers with inmate court transports. He also stated that he used the video monitor 
in the control room for the checks. He admitted that he made the entry on the record of 
confinement, but that the time should have been 6:30 p.m. However, that was several hours after 
the inmate was pronounced deceased.  No criminal charges were filed. 
 
Penalty Guideline: Prospective Suspension to Revocation 
FDLE Prosecution requested revocation. 
 
Disciplinary Action by the Commission: The Commission accepted the requested penalty. 
 
 
The following information is provided to facilitate an understanding of the Professional 
Compliance process. 
Since 2001, the International Association of Directors of Law Enforcement Standards and Training 
(IADLEST) has maintained the National Decertification Index (NDI).  The NDI is a national registry 
of certification or license revocation actions relating to officer misconduct and serves as a valuable 
tool when assessing the suitability of criminal justice applicants.  Agency administrators may be 
alerted to previous disciplinary issues prior to making a hiring decision, or learn an applicant does 
not meet the Commission’s minimum qualifications for certification.  FDLE has served as Florida’s 
NDI representative since 2001 and adds each instance of the Commission revoking an officer’s 
certification or accepting an officer’s relinquished certification.  Information concerning the 
circumstances for decertification must be obtained from the state where the officer was previously 
certified.  It is important to note that an officer’s inclusion in the NDI does not necessarily preclude 
them from appointment as an officer in Florida. 
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The records contained in the NDI are provided by participating agencies and include the name of 
the subject officer, action against the certification, and contact information related to the certifying 
organization. The NDI currently contains over 30,000 actions reported by 45 certifying 
organizations.  Florida’s large officer population, coupled with the Commission’s progressive 
disciplinary process, have led to over 10,000 Florida revocations and relinquishments being 
added to the NDI during its 19-year history.  Currently there are over 600 Florida agency users. 
 
Access to the database is available at no charge to vetted law enforcement officers, background 
investigators, and support staff.  Agencies interested in access must submit a request through 
the NDI website at https://www.iadlest.org/our-services/ndi/about-ndi.  Once on the website, 
select “Request Access to the NDI” button and provide the requested information.  FDLE will be 
notified automatically to review and approve the request.  Please note: approval of the agency 
administrator must be obtained by the individual making the request for access. 
 
If you have any issues that you would like to be addressed in this bulletin, please forward them to 
R. Stacy Lehman, Professional Compliance Section Manager in the Bureau of Standards, at the 
Florida Department of Law Enforcement, P.O. Box 1489, Tallahassee, Florida 32302 or via e-mail 
at: stacylehman@fdle.state.fl.us. 

https://www.iadlest.org/our-services/ndi/about-ndi

