Florida Law Enforcement Hall of Fame Official Inductees
2016 Inductees
2017 Inductees
2018 Inductees

                                                        2019 Inductees
Charles F. DuPont was born in 1861 in Tampa to Romeo and Amanda DuPont, who were both freed slaves. Following the Civil War, he moved to Key West to become a carpenter and a Republican activist. In 1889, he was inaugurated as Florida’s first popularly elected African-American Sheriff. The Monroe County Grand Jury publicly commended Sheriff DuPont and his deputies for their “gentlemanly and courteous behavior,” and a circuit court judge wrote the governor that there was not a more efficient and polite officer than Sheriff DuPont. In 1891, he was ordered to bring two pro-Spain Cubans to Tampa for trial; due to protests, he kept the two men in Key West to avoid a lynching. The two men were tried four times before they were finally found not guilty. He continued to be a strong advocate for equal justice under the law after his term as sheriff ended by founding the local chapter of the NAACP, just two years after the movement began. Sheriff DuPont held a great respect from the community of Key West, which was referred to as the “freest town in the south.”
Manuel L. Gonzalez started his career at the Miami-Dade Police Department in 2011 and continues to serve there today. While working off-duty, Officer Gonzalez was involved in an exchange of gunfire and was struck multiple times. Although seriously injured, he fought back for the safety of the citizens around him, killing the suspect. Because of the heroic actions of Officer Gonzalez, he was awarded the Miami-Dade Police Department Gold Medal of Valor for performing an outstanding act of bravery and the Purple Heart Award for suffering a serious injury on duty. He was also awarded the 2017 Police Officer of the Year from the Police Benevolent Association and 2017 Lee McGehee Police Officer of the Year from the Florida Police Chiefs Association. Recently, Attorney General Moody named him her 2018 Law Enforcement Officer of the Year. Officer Gonzalez is seen by the community as a true leader and is proud to still serve the law enforcement community.
Paul R. Hoover began his 30-year commitment to the protection of Florida’s natural resources in 1973 as a game manager with the Florida Game and Fresh Water Fish Commission. Not long after, he fulfilled his lifelong dream when he transferred to the Division of Law Enforcement as an officer. He was recognized as Florida’s Wildlife Officer of the Year in 1977. When the Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission was established, he became the chief of inland operations and later served as chief of staff. During this time, he helped lay the foundation of the FWC Division of Law Enforcement. Paul also attended and graduated from the 1997 FBI National Academy. Throughout his career, he mentored and guided hundreds of law enforcement officers and was recognized by various national conservation groups, receiving the Guy Bradley Award for Outstanding Leadership and Professional Excellence in 2005. An avid runner, he coached Wakulla High School’s cross country and track teams. He was killed by a hit and run driver while on an evening run in 2017. The track at Wakulla High School is now named the Coach Paul Hoover Track and Field and the run he created to support the cross country program was named the Paul Hoover Memorial 5k Freedom Run in his honor.
Alphonso Lofton joined the Florida Highway Patrol in 1970 after witnessing an FHP trooper investigating a hit-and-run accident, becoming the Patrol’s first African-American trooper. After graduation from the FHP academy, he was assigned to Field Operations in Miami’s Troop E. In 1973, he was promoted to traffic homicide investigator, and he was assigned as a recruiter in 1981. He was appointed to FHP’s Equal Employment Opportunity Committee to recruit more African-Americans into the Florida Highway Patrol. His recruitment efforts earned him recognition from the patrol and the community, receiving the Martin Luther King Brotherhood Award and a commendation from the Florida Commission on Human Relations for his recruitment efforts. Trooper Lofton succumbed to multiple sclerosis in 1984 at the age of 39. Because of his outstanding service to the citizens of Florida, the 1989 Florida Legislature dedicated the Troop E Headquarters building in Miami in his memory.
James D. Sewell began his 32-year active law enforcement career in 1973 at The Florida State University Department of Public Safety. After rising through FSU’s ranks to lieutenant, he was appointed an inspector with the Florida Department of Law Enforcement and during his first tenure at FDLE, served in a variety of leadership roles. In 1986, he was named the chief of police with the Gulfport Police Department, where he later became acting city manager. In 1990, he returned to FDLE and became the first director of the Florida Criminal Justice Executive Institute, which, as a chief of police, he helped develop. Today, FCJEI continues to further the professional development of Florida’s law enforcement executives. Over the next several years, he held a number of executive positions with FDLE and was FDLE Assistant Commissioner when he retired in 2005. Throughout his career, he was seen as a true champion for the continued development of law enforcement at every rank. Since retirement, he has provided training and consulting services to numerous law enforcement and other organizations and has been recognized for his on-going commitment to public service. A native of Jacksonville, he received his B.S., M.S., and Ph.D. from The Florida State University.