

Gerald M. Bailey Commissioner Criminal Justice Professionalism Program Post Office Box 1489 Tallahassee, Florida 32302-1489 (850) 410-8600 Ada www.fdle.state.fl.us

April 13, 2012

# CRIMINAL JUSTICE STANDARDS & TRAINING COMMISSION TECHNICAL MEMO 2012-04

- TO: Criminal Justice Agency Administrators Training Center Directors
- **FROM:** Program Director Jennifer C. Pritt Criminal Justice Professionalism Program
- **SUBJECT:** Annual Salary Incentive Reports, Mandatory Retraining, and Firearms Qualification

This technical memorandum is submitted as a reminder for criminal justice agencies to submit a reconciled Annual Salary Incentive Report, and to require their officers to complete 40 hours of mandatory retraining every four years, and demonstrate firearms proficiency at least every two years.

## Annual Salary Incentive Compensation Report

Pursuant to Chapter 943.22(2)(i), F.S., "Employing agencies shall annually submit reports to the commission containing information relative to compensation of full-time officers employed by agencies." In mid-January, Annual Salary Incentive Compensation Reports were posted in the Automated Training and Management System (ATMS) for each criminal justice agency. This report satisfies the requirements of Chapter 943.22(2)(i), F.S.

Please compare the demographic, employment, and salary incentive data with your agency records for each sworn officer, note any discrepancies on the report, attach any supporting documentation, and return the report with the signature page to: Florida Department of Law Enforcement (FDLE), Criminal Justice Professionalism Program, Post Office Box 1489, Tallahassee, Florida, Attention "Records Section." If you have not made any corrections to the report, you are still required to submit the report and signature page to FDLE, pursuant to Chapter, 943.2292)(i), F.S. Please submit the report to FDLE no later than April 6, 2012.

#### Officer Mandatory Retraining

Pursuant to Chapter 943.135(1), F.S., criminal justice officers shall complete 40 hours of continuing training or education every four years. The Commission, as well as the Florida Legislature, also has mandated that certain topic areas shall be completed as a part of-the 40-hour mandatory retraining requirement.

- For law enforcement officers, these topics include training in domestic violence investigations, human diversity, juvenile sexual offender investigations, discriminatory profiling/ professional traffic stops, and use-of-force training.
- For correctional and correctional probation officers, these topics include human diversity and use-of-force training.

## Technical Memorandum 2012-04

Annual Salary Incentive Reports, Mandatory Retraining, and Firearms Qualification April 13, 2012 Page 2

An officer's four-year cycle is determined by his/her certification date. The officer's first mandatory retraining cycle is due June 30th of the fourth year following the officer's certification date. The officer's second mandatory retraining cycle is due June 30th every four years after the first mandatory retraining cycle.

To access the "Mandatory Retraining Due Dates Report" in ATMS: Select "Administration" and then select "Reports" in the left menu to determine which officer is due for mandatory retraining in a particular year. An officer, whose mandatory retraining is due on June 30, 2012, <u>does not</u> complete the training, <u>and does not</u> update ATMS by June 30, 2012, shall have his/her certification become inactive and shall be separated from his/her sworn position in ATMS until mandatory retraining has been completed.

Pursuant to Rule 11B-27.00212(6), F.A.C., an officer who has not completed his/her mandatory retraining within six months of being separated in ATMS shall be required to complete all employment requirements as if he/she is a new hire for the agency.

When an officer has completed all mandatory retraining requirements, the agency is required to update the officer's record in ATMS. To report the officer's completion of mandatory retraining, an agency may access the officer's record in ATMS by selecting:

- "Certification" in the left menu, select the certificate to be updated, and enter the date the requirements were met in the "Mandatory Retraining Completion Date" field.
- Enter the date use-of-force training was completed in the appropriate field and check all required boxes. All required mandatory retraining shall be completed prior to updating information in ATMS.

Please retain a copy of the Training Report form CJSTC-74 and any supporting documentation in the officer's agency training file to verify the completed mandatory retraining dates. Supporting documentation may include certificates of completion for classes, attendance records/sign-in sheets for agency in-service training, test results from on-line training, or other documentation confirming that the officer completed the training and the total hours are equal to or in excess of 40 hours.

## Law Enforcement Officer Firearms Qualification

Pursuant to Chapter 943.12(16), F.S., the Commission is mandated by the Legislature to ensure that law enforcement officers demonstrate firearms proficiency. As a result, the Commission adopted Rule 11B-27.00212(14), F.A.C., mandating law enforcement officers to demonstrate firearms proficiency by qualifying on the Commission's approved 40-round course of fire at least once every two years. The qualification shall be conducted by a Commission-certified criminal justice firearms instructor and entered into ATMS by June 30th of every even numbered year.

To report the officer's completion of demonstration of firearms proficiency, an agency may access the officer's record in ATMS by selecting:

- "Firearms Qualification" in the left menu and entering the instructor's social security number.
- If the firearms qualification date is not after the officer's certification date or not in the current reporting cycle, or if the instructor did not possess an active firearms instructor certification on the date of firearms qualification, the ATMS entry will be rejected. Only one valid firearms qualification date may be entered in ATMS, and it is not necessary to update the qualification date if additional qualifications are conducted during the same two-year reporting cycle.

# Technical Memorandum 2012-04

Annual Salary Incentive Reports, Mandatory Retraining, and Firearms Qualification April 13, 2012 Page 2

• To determine if an officer has a valid date for the current two-year reporting cycle, an agency may access the Firearms Qualification report in ATMS by selecting "Administration" and "Reports" in the left menu in ATMS, and then in the Agency Based Reports list, select "Firearms Qualification" to review the report.

Please retain a copy of the Mandatory Firearms Training Report form CJSTC-86 and the Law Enforcement Officer Firearms Qualification Standard form CJSTC-86A in the officer's agency training file to verify the officer's completion of firearms qualification.

A law enforcement officer who does not complete his/her firearms qualification and whose record is not updated in ATMS by June 30, 2012, shall have an inactive certification, and shall be separated from his/her sworn position in ATMS until firearms qualification has been completed. Pursuant to Rule 11B-27.00212(14)(c), F.A.C., an officer who has not completed his/her firearms qualification within six months of being separated in ATMS shall complete all the requirements for re-employment as a new hire with the agency.

Should you have any questions regarding the Annual Salary Incentive Reports, Mandatory Retraining and Firearms Qualification requirements, please contact your assigned Field Representative or the Officer Records Section at (850) 410-8600.

#### JCP/tb/djh

cc: Criminal Justice Standards and Training Commission Members Criminal Justice Professionalism Program Members