

Florida Department of Law Enforcement

Gerald M. Bailey Commissioner

Criminal Justice Professionalism Post Office Box 1489 Tallahassee, Florida 32302-1489 (850) 410-8600 www.fdle.state.fl.us Rick Scott, *Governor*Pam Bondi, *Attorney General*Jeff Atwater, *Chief Financial Officer*Adam Putnam, *Commissioner of Agriculture*

September 6, 2013

CRIMINAL JUSTICE STANDARDS & TRAINING COMMISSION TECHNICAL MEMO 2013-11

TO: Criminal Justice Agencies

FROM: Director Jennifer C. Pritt

Criminal Justice Professionalism Division

SUBJECT: Firearms Qualification Requirements

The June 30, 2014 deadline for reporting compliance with the firearms qualification for law enforcement officers outlined in Rule 11B-27.00212(14), Florida Administrative Code, is approaching. In an effort to ensure that all active law enforcement officers have their qualifications done and properly documented in the Automated Training and Management System (ATMS), the following frequently asked questions and corresponding answers are being provided to assist agency personnel.

1. If I hire a new officer prior to June 30, 2014, will they have to qualify on the 40 round course by June 30, 2014?

Answer: Yes, there is no "grace" period for a person hired prior to the deadline.

2. If I hire a new officer who has a valid date in ATMS for the current cycle, does the officer have to qualify again and have ATMS updated to reflect this new qualification date?

Answer: No. As long as the officer qualified during the current two-year period and ATMS reflects this qualification date, no further action is required; however, it is recommended that the

officer qualify with each new employment.

3. I have officers whose mandatory retraining due dates are June 30, 2015 or later. Do I have to update ATMS with their qualification date prior to their mandatory retraining due date?

Answer: Yes, the reporting of the firearms qualification requirement is not associated with the

officer's regular 40 hour mandatory retraining. The firearms qualification must be done at least once every two years and reported by June 30 of each even numbered year.

4. Can the time spent qualifying be counted as part of the 40 hours of mandatory retraining?

Answer: Yes, so long as the qualifications were conducted during that officer's 40-hour

mandatory retraining cycle. Just remember that the date the qualification was done

must still be entered in ATMS during the two-year firearms qualification cycle.

Technical Memorandum 2013-11 September 6, 2013 Page 2

5. What will happen to officers who fail to qualify by June 30, 2014?

Answer:

Their certification will become inactive until they qualify and the proof of qualification is provided to the Officer Records Section at FDLE so their certification can be updated. They will not be able to perform the duties of a sworn officer until their certification is active again and will not be eligible for salary incentive payments.

6. Who can conduct the firearms qualification?

Answer:

At least one Commission-certified firearms instructor whose firearms instructor certification is active is required to conduct the qualification, however, it is recommended that there be no more than six officers actively engaged on a firearms range for each Commission-certified firearms instructor. The Commission-certified firearms instructor does not have to be employed by the criminal justice agency whose officers are qualifying.

7. We hired an officer and had them qualify prior to becoming certified. Can we count the qualification that was done or will the officer need to qualify again after certification?

Answer:

If the qualification was done in conjunction with employment and between July 1, 2012 and June 30, 2014, it can be used to satisfy the qualification requirement.

If you have any questions regarding this technical memorandum or the firearms qualification requirements, please contact your FDLE field representative or Officer Records liaison.

JCP/GWH/tb/djh

cc: Criminal Justice Standards and Training Commission Members