
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
 
DEPARTMENT OF LAW ENFORCEMENT 
 
Division of Criminal Justice Information Systems 
 
RULE NO:  RULE TITLE 
11C-6.004:  Procedures for Requesting Criminal History Records 
 
PURPOSE AND EFFECT: To update the rule to conform to statutory criminal history fee requirements. 
 
SUMMARY:  Revises fees for criminal history checks. 
 
SUMMARY OF STATEMENT OF ESTIMATED REGULATORY COSTS:  No Statement of Estimated 
Regulatory Cost was prepared.  Any person who wishes to provide information regarding the statement of estimated 
regulatory costs, or to provide a proposal for a lower cost regulatory alternative must do so in writing within 21 days 
of this notice. 
 
RULEMAKING AUTHORITY:  943.03(4), 943.053(3), 943.0542, 943.056 FS. 
 
LAW IMPLEMENTED:  943.053(3), 943.0542, 943.056 FS. 
 
IF REQUESTED WITHIN 21 DAYS OF THE DATE OF THIS NOTICE, A HEARING WILL BE HELD AT THE 
DATE, TIME AND PLACE SHOWN BELOW (IF NOT REQUESTED, THIS HEARING WILL NOT BE HELD): 
 
DATE AND TIME:  Tuesday, April 6, 2010, 10:00 a.m. 
 
PLACE:  Florida Department of Law Enforcement, 2331 Phillips Road, Tallahassee, FL 32308. 
 
Pursuant to the provisions of the Americans with Disabilities Act, any person requiring special accommodations to 
participate in this workshop/meeting is asked to advise the agency at least 5 days before the workshop/meeting by 
contacting: Martha Wright at 850-410-8113 or marthawright@fdle.state.fl.us If you are hearing or speech impaired, 
please contact the agency using the Florida Relay Service, 1(800)955-8771 (TDD) or 1(800)955-8770 (Voice). 
 
THE PERSON TO BE CONTACTED REGARDING THE PROPOSED RULE IS:  Martha Wright at 850-410-8113 
or marthawright@fdle.state.fl.us, Florida Department of Law Enforcement, Criminal Justice Information Services, 
2331 Phillips Road, Tallahassee, Florida 32308   
 
NAME OF PERSON ORIGINATING PROPOSED RULE:  Martha Wright at 850-410-8113 
 
NAME OF AGENCY HEAD WHO APPROVED THE PROPOSED RULE:  Governor and Cabinet 
 
DATE PROPOSED RULE APPROVED BY AGENCY HEAD:  February 24, 2010 
 
DATE NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE DEVELOPMENT PUBLISHED IN FAW:  January 15, 2010 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 

 



 

11C-6.004 Procedures for Requesting Criminal History Records. 
(1) – (2) No change. 
(3) Fees. 
(a) No change. 
(b) As provided in subsection 943.053(3), F.S., a processing fee of $24 $23 shall be charged for each subject 

inquired upon under paragraphs (2)(d) through (f), except that a fee of $8 shall be charged for each subject inquired 
upon for vendors of the Department of Children and Family Services, the Department of Juvenile Justice, and the 
Department of Elderly Affairs; a fee of $15 shall be charged for each subject inquired upon pursuant to a state 
criminal history record check required by law to be performed by the Department of Agriculture and Consumer 
Services; a fee of $18 shall be charged for each volunteer subject inquired upon under the National Child Protection 
Act of 1993, as amended; and no fee shall be charged for Florida criminal history information or wanted person 
information requested by the state offices of the Public Defender. If the Executive Director of the Department 
determines that conducting the record check would be in the interest of law enforcement or criminal justice or that 
good cause otherwise exists, the prescribed fee may be waived or reduced, as provided in subsection 943.053(3), 
F.S.  

(c) The processing fee charged for each subject inquired upon via the internet shall be the fee authorized for 
inquiries from persons in the private sector in subsection 943.053(3), F.S. This fee shall be assessed based on the 
inquiry regardless of whether the results show no criminal history record or some possible records. When an inquiry 
on one subject is made and more than one person is presented as possibly the same person, the customer will receive 
one criminal history record as a result of the prescribed payment. If the customer wants additional criminal history 
records from the list of persons presented for this same inquiry, a processing fee of $24 $8.00 shall be charged for 
each additional criminal record. 

(4) No change. 

Rulemaking Specific Authority 943.03(4), 943.053(3), 943.0542, 943.056 FS. Law Implemented 943.053(3), 
943.0542, 943.056 FS. History–New 12-30-76, Amended 11-7-83, Formerly 11C-6.04, Amended 9-1-88, 4-1-93, 7-
7-99, 8-22-00, 7-29-01, 12-3-03, 6-9-08, ____________________. 
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